Average rating:

4.5
out of 154 ratings.

Love it

by JoeRich1 on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Jimjohnjimjohnjimjohnjim

My fav film podcast

by a-lex22 on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many episodes I really f*** with. You guys/gals are not only informative but also entertaining. I like the balance of opinions and I can always trust that the info I’m receiving is credible.Lol oh yeah side-note, it’s hella tight that u guys got Ron Swanson!!

Keep your politics out of it!

by James Kriha on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just lost a subscriber. Don’t assume everyone agrees with your politics.

filmmaker and long-time listener

by foodboggle on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The NFS podcast is the best, most relevant podcast for filmmakers making work at any budget. The show listens to its audience and the hosts hit a pitch perfect tone and keep things real without jargain. Weekly segments that focus on the various aspects of production and industry tend to be helpful.

Phenom Resource ✨

by EsspieB on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

With my background in studio side of filmmaking , I’ve learned a whole new world as I navigate through the indie space from this very intelligent podcast!

Look forward to each week

by jess jack @studiofest on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys are each a wealth of knowledge. Great new addition Erik!Liz I always appreciate your sense of humor and fresh perspective. John your vulnerability as a new filmmaker is refreshing and allows for questions others are thinking. Charles you are a wiz. Thanks for all your stellar work and thorough reporting.

Thank God for this Podcast

by b.rocker on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening to this Podcast because it encourages me to believe that it is possible to make films that I am passionate about. So grateful for this Podcast.

If you listen to 1 filmmaking podcast make it NFS!

by JV editor on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have subscribed to six filmmaking and camera equipment podcasts over the past 3 years but found with nofilmschool, I can now listen to a single program and get the latest gear news, learn about what's trending in the industry, and be entertained. I relied on NFS for insight on purchases of cameras, lenses, audio gear and lights. And Charles actually convinced me to NOT spend money now an gear that is not essential. Hosts are talented and include a USC Film School MFA grad who is a film school professor in New York. SUBSCRIBE!

must-listen for filmmakers

by FranzSalvatierra on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The interview podcasts are amazing and every regular episode brings such informative new information and thoughts about filmmaking

Trust me, it’s not basic

by Weston Downing on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is not a basic “no film school” genre for quick tips and tricks. It helps grow you as a filmmaker and a business professional. Love it!

My constant in all things filmmaking

by ReidPetro on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is absolutely amazing. So much info packed into each episode. Thank you for this resource!

Disappointed it's not professionally produced

by JamaalQB on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the content... once the show finally gets to it. The "nofilmschool" producers should find a "noradioschool" guide to writing for and producing an audio interview show.

Very helpful interviews

by Cul8rRunner on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast really helps me to figure out what indies are worth seeing and which new directors to be on the lookout for. The interviews are very helpful and interesting. It doesn't blow my mind like some other podcasts do, but it's always worth a listen.

A Sea of Insight

by JBrango on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First let me say the quality is refreshing. And you would expect as much from people who work in the film industry. At times much of their pieces are scripted but that is very nice to have in a time where people tend to ramble off topic rather frequently. But when they do go off script they are entertaining and enjoyable with their banter. Quality aside, I have to say that I have never left any of their podcasts without learning something of value. Whether you are a DP, Director, Gaffer, Actor, or what have you, listening to this podcast will deepen your understanding of the industry and open your eyes to new approaches to your own projects.

Diverse Content

by Andy555555555 on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcasts for filmmakers (in school or not). Strong interviews with all types of industry professionals, coverage of film festivals, film news about the changing industry, gear releases, and helpful tips from the hosts about making stronger films.

Jumped the shark

by A902450928543 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

These guys just used the phrase "check your privilege" un-ironically. Holy crap. The girl (although very well-spoken) has WAY too much lip-smacking mouth noise. Apparently they just decided to slam the right side of the EQ to the sky. It's past syllabance at this point... nails on a chalkboard. The interviews are generally great. The content and flow is great. Just make sure you set a custom EQ with the high-end nuked.

Awesome show; awesome theme song!

by Chadzilla3 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the news and the interviews... but I want to know what the themesong is! :D It is great! Super hard to get questions answered though. :(

Evan Approves

by Pandalux on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts!

Film news during traffic

by sethburke on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I usually don't have time to read stories online, so for me this podcast is ideal. Also, it gives me something to do while sitting in the lovely LA daily commute.

Great interviews, practical advice

by Bravheart1723 on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews, content and articles on website are filled with tried and tested advice. !

Highly recommended for all filmmakers

by zenahk on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent source of inspiration, advice, and industry news

Great Podcast

by Cylomicronman on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

One of my go-to podcasts. A refreshing blend of artistic, practical, and technical discussion about the art and craft of filmmaking. I work in the industry and can vouch that these folks know what they are talking about. I like the casual tone of the conversations and the humor they insert into each show. Everything a podcast should be. If you care about films or want to make films listen to this.

Can't get over the politics

by Chance McClain on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great production quality. Great gear reviews. Good source of indy film industry news and info. 3 instead of 5 because their politics influence their content too much.

Most Comprehensive and Legit Film Podcast/ Film Reporting Out There

by Hyten D on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts and contributors are extremely professional with both a deep love and knowledge of all aspects of filmmaking. Great variety of film news, gear talk, interviews, and listener-submitted questions. Finding this podcast turned out to be a great treasure, and I've never missed an episode since.

Thank Goodness for No Film School

by Leo DeLaney on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The No Film School Podcast gives you all the news you need like gear news, releases, festival updates, laws pertaining to filmmaking, upcoming grants and deadlines, and so much more. Their Sundance coverage gave me everything I needed to know.

Best Podcast

by Lizfan67 on Dec 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

So well produced! Great information, interesting interviews, all around inspiring content.

Binge Listening to catch up!

by dmsquare100 on Dec 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to every weekly Thursday episode and e/o Monday interview. Information about the latest information and stories from the trenches of the independent industry. Living in Manhattan, it's feels great to know they're in Brooklyn and that the film community is alive. I had been reading NFS for a few years, but I didn't know there was a podcast. So I've been binge listening for days. Keeping up with the relevent festivals and Ask No Film School. Thank you for everything you guys do for the show and the comminuty.

Best podcast for filmmakers and film enthusiasts

by Danzabs on Dec 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is essential listening for anyone involved in the entertainment industry. The host, Liz, is great and provides exclusive insight to all aspects of production like film financing, gear, and distribution. She also has great interviews with industry insiders and some super talented director. Definitely check it out!

Excellent

by haalliso on Nov 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I am immersed in a world of pre-service teachers and other kinds of educators and think the NFS podcast could be an excellent tool to complement their work with high schoolers in the area of media literacy. Fantastic and easy to enjoy.

The best podcast for indie filmmakers

by CSBowie79 on Oct 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

You make indie films? You should listen to this. It's great.

Film School Worthy

by punkyspiderman on Oct 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If I taught a class about making indie films this podcast would be a requirement. They cover so much information that is truly invaluable to young filmmakers while showing you how attainable the next level is.

awesome show

by Tom Morkes on Aug 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

really great resource for film lovers and makers. love tuning in and learning something new

I like no film school but...

by Dannydogg12 on Aug 23, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I could only make it through 1.5 episodes, but it's like all the bad parts of nofilmschool put to annoying voices... I really wanted to like it, but it's basically what's wrong with Indy film

Great for gear buffs, not for students of film

by JoeLudgewigs on Aug 09, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It's a shame that a great website like Nofilmschool has a podcast that doesn't share the same quality of film education content like their website does. I'd definitely give this 5 stars if they focused more on the craft of filmmaking and less on the latest and greatest filmmaking gear and technology. That stuff may be exciting to talk about but it's not what makes a film great.

love

by unblockstas on Aug 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

great film news podcast

Youth Filmmaker

by Hjdyhs on Jul 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for all the work that goes into making these podcasts. This is great resource for keeping me up with the news within the film industry as well as a keeping me inspired to create, through the interviews of amazing filmmakers. This really makes my commute a lot shorter! Also, as a female and a minority I appreciate how you shed light on the diversity issues within the filmmaking world.

Favorite filmmaker podcast

by HaasDocs on Jun 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn so much from every episode as well as gain such inspiration from the hosts and their guests. It makes my long distance drives fly by! Keep it up NoFilmSchool!

Really informative

by AngelicaJoJip on Apr 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m super stoked on this podcast. It’s a great resource for news, tools, and everything for the working filmmaker. Plus, sometimes they do interviews with cool people!!!

Nice!

by Schwizzel on Apr 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Dope interviews. Keep up the good work.

professional

by Sam Lassiter on Apr 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative resource. I didn’t know diddily-squat, and now I can say, “hey I know everything"

Proud Poppa and Producer

by Jim Gusco on Apr 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

So informative for me as a filmmaker. So good.

Inspiring and Empowering

by Bcspro on Mar 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love that there is a audio resource to accompany the site. If only there was a Apple News channel for iOS. Also, got me really excited to get back into production this summer.

Director

by Herzog Kaufman on Mar 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great resources for aspiring filmmakers! Sounds great too.