Average rating:

5
out of 311 ratings.

Last Waltz

by ktsheak on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Discovered this podcast obsessing about The Last Waltz. Love the idea of an annual episode dedicated to the influence of this iconic film. Looking forward to the 3rd edition.

Interesting conversations

by BigDannySmack on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really like that Steven doesn’t strictly adhere to the usual alt rock othrodoxy but also doesn’t purposely go against it to be edgy. He’s aware of the “common wisdom” but he likes what he likes and is willing to discuss anything, as eps about bands like Dave Matthews Band shows. Even when I disagree with him I usually find his opinions interesting. And the guests are usually good and knowledgeable. Good stuff.

Didn’t deliver

by ThibsJ on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Don’t get me wrong, I love all things rock music but this just wasn’t for me. I started with the Siamese Dream episode and there just wasn’t enough there to get me to want to listen to the other episodes. If you're going to break down an album (or advertise a podcast episode as such) then break it down man. Go deep! You guys touched on most fans not knowing or caring about Corgan’s missteps (I had no clue about an Alex Jones incident) and I think you were right. I didn’t want an hour on how Corgan’s personality effected the legacy of the Pumpkins. I wanted a deep dive into one of the great albums of the 90’s. That just didn’t come through. One episode may have spoiled it for me, maybe I’ll check out a few more and re-review. For now, very disappointed.

Hyden is a throwback … not in a good way.

by listening with ears on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

One of the great things about music today is how integrated it is, how cross genre it is. Well, Hyden does a podcast on music as if hip hop, r&b, dance music (electronic or otherwise) of any kind, ever happened … in you haven't read between the lines – this is the whitest podcast on music ever. It's like listening to a rock station from the 70s. On the plus side he has Klosterman on on occasion. That one star is for Chuck.

Can Liberals and Conservatives still bond over music

by gljtad on Sep 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Steven Hyden has raised a fundamental question that people may not wish to answer. I say yes to the “bond” issue. Music is music. Please keep debating music

A real joy for music

by jangminwook on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Steve Hyden’s love for music is infectious. He injects joy into the listening experience that’s you might find missing in this day and age. He has opinions on music for sure but his words just drip with sincerity that you find yourself open to them even if you necessarily agree. And it goes without saying the content and guests are just great. A worthy listen.

5 starts

by aaronvonde on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome, down to earth music podcast for both the casual and passionate rock and roll music fan.

Love This Podcast

by Kruugman on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I came across this when I discovered there was a multi-episode series discussing Springsteen’s albums. If you’re a Springsteen fan, this is must listen material. After enjoying those, I have listened to several others. The one on Pete Yorn had me diving back into his entire catalogue. The Rob Sheffield interview on the Beatles had me playing the Beatles all week and looking forward to reading his book. This is a great series for music lovers. Thank you for producing it!

My favorite podcast

by DollaFiftyinLateChahges on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to it every week. I value Steven’s opinions (even when I don’t always agree coughBoardingHouseReachcough) and I appreciate the care he puts into his work. He picks great guests, never grows tiresome, and gets better every week. Thank you very much.

Test

by skreddy1 on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Testing

Great stuff

by ZebraMMMM on Apr 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart and witthy and fresh music discussion....

Look forward to it every week

by paulitical3 on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show, great guests. Always insightful and when he gets the real rock and roll heavy hitters on, you're in for some memorable stories. Loved the Pearl Jam and Bruce series, and Steven's appreaciation for Phish is genuine and welcomed. His interview with Mike Gordon was fantastic.

Very Well Done Rock Show

by testaon on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Steven has a great way of keeping this show real. His interviews consist of extremely well-informed questions and relaxed, interesting mostly big-name guests. This is a professionally crafted "radio show". It's set up like a NPR-style long-form radio show but with a few short commercial breaks. I'm a big fan.

Boss Podcast

by CracklyCrayfish on Feb 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best rock and roll podcast out there. Steven Hayden is a gentleman and a scholar. My only gripe is with some of the sound effects used in the intro. Keep it up Steven!

Great rock and/or roll podcast!

by StrotherK on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My process is always the same: I listen to Steven Hyden talk about an album or artist, then l listen to that album/artist as many times as possible. Even with something I’ve played 4,192 times, like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Hyden and his guests always help me find a new appreciation. I’m anxiously awaiting the upcoming multi-part Springsteen series!

Awesome

by Musicluvr1991 on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite music podcast. Steven is super thoughtful and always manages to spark conversations and produce insights that I connect with. He's pretty ecumenical about rock and music culture generally too, which I appreciate.

Jeremy Dylan podcast brught me here,,,

by Hard to find a new nickname on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Outstanding podcast!

PJ

by MUSICsoulpatrolNUT on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoying the PJ episodes.

Mike Gordon

by Sharbf on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the Mike Gordon interview. He's a very interesting and chatty guy. No surprise there. Thanks for getting him.

Fantastic Rock Topics by an Expert Fan

by Saul T. Baygun on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hyden has singular POVs on familiar rock topics (Beatles, Dead, Limp Bizkit (!)) which freshen the hell out of them, plus he takes terrific looks at stuff that doesn't get that kind of attention. His guests are wonderfully varied and good company; the vibe is always chill, conversational, insightful, and fun, dammit! A real fan, always a terrific writer (find any of his stuff; past or present on Google site links, buy it on Amazon), and now the host of this excellent podcast, a true blast to listen to - thank you for all of it, man!!

All Ya Had To Do Was Ask...

by ThinWhiteLine on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never write reviews, but I felt obligated in this case because I really enjoyed Steven's writing @ (the former) Grantland. I'll cop to a little generational bias, as I'm the same age as Hyden; but I think the pod has fun topics, good conversation, and Hyden's funny without ever trying too hard.

Best rock pod.

by white_death on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Period.

Great way to learn about music

by Sweaty McGrundlelicker on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There's a lot of great rock music out there, and listening to Steven is a great way to learn about it.

Love this pod!!!

by 93 Sonics on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Got hooked from the Vitology-ology series. Keep it going Steven!!

The Best Insight In Rock Music Today

by YerUFOGuy on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I purchased Steven's book, 'Your Favorite Band Is Killing Me', last year and loved it. On the podcast, he provides insightful opinions on some of the genres greatest artists, albums, and a plethora of great interviews as well. If you love all types of rock music, check this one out.

Steve Gorman

by panhead tug on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, thanks for taking the opportunity to geek out with Steve for all us geeks

Great conversations

by Max the Red on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can grow a little tired of rock critics' fondness for their opinions, but Hyden's humility and the great info revealed in the conversations trumps all. So many fun episodes.

Steven Hyden is great

by thecoolguy67 on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good guy doing the lord's work repping rock music in the 21st century. Steven always has an interesting take on things and very engaging with the artists. Always a reliable pod and I would be remiss not to mention his excellent online writing and books as well. Give it a try and you'll love it!!

Sound quality on interviews is pretty rough

by ajmpls on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the pod, but it could really use a little help in the production -- this most recent FJM interview was pretty rough to listen to, I had to turn it off because I couldn't make out most of what he was saying on the speakerphone connection. Also the end-of-year interview with Ian Cohen, his line is so bad that i had to stop listening as well. but otherwise i love it!

MPL_58

by MPL_58 on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast, very engaging with awesome rock music discussion.

It's just rock n' roll

by Zoso37 on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Music/pop culture writer Steven Hyden's byline on the recently defunct Grantland was the best reason to visit the site. Celebration Rock is now the best reason to pop open the Podcasts App.

Always a great listen

by Calmacil20 on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Celebration Rock is one of my go-to music podcasts. Always has great guests, and gets me interested in topics I didn't think I would be. Check it out!

New favorite podcast

by MrFrostee on Dec 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love steves take on my favorite indie bands and bringing in interesting guests. I really get a new and deeper appreciation for the music.

Excellent podcast

by RobUA03 on Dec 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Also enjoyed Steven's book very much.

Great stuff

by goldeneaglemke on Sep 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Unreal interviews. Brings great guests and highlights awesome bands. Well worth a listen

Re: Stephen Hyden is as good as it gets

by deaddrunkandnaked on Sep 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Hyden is as good as it gets for rock critics working today. An honest voice with excellence taste and not a douche. Cheers,E

Best New Podcast!

by davidseanca on Sep 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, insightful, and always a great listen! Every episode leaves you wanting to argue music with friends

What I've been looking for

by evanseesred on Aug 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast right now. As a 30 something that grew up a voracious music fan, I've felt like I don't have these kinds of deep dive conversations with friends like I used to. This is lighting up a part of my brain that hasn't been activated in a while and I love it.

Great music pod

by Miguel Kwiiiiin on Aug 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved his writing at grantland and his book. If you are a music fan it is a must.

Essential Listening

by Dhjfhjnfu on Aug 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the rock podcast I've waited my life for. Brilliant conversation and analysis. Look forward to it every week!!

A++

by Swayzie Express on Aug 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast. Hyden is one of the best music writers alive, and his guests are top notch.His episodes with Chuck Klosterman are especially great, and it would be awesome if they could just spin off and have a weekly pod.

How am I just now hearing about this?

by Frowning in Frisco on Aug 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so fantastic. Not sure how I missed it, but what a fun surprise to find. I just finished listening to the one where rob sheffield is the guest and they talk about David Bowie. Rob has always been a favorite of mine and I love "love is a mixtape". Great to hear their passion about Bowie and banter. Bowie was great. Rob is great. And I'm happily figuring out Steven is too. Loving his book "your favorite band is killing me". Only on chapter 2, but his voice is hilariously smart and fun. (Artistic voice not actual voice. His speaking voice is normal. You'll figure it out once you start listening to this podcast already. What are you waiting for!?! Haha)

Celebrating rock the right way

by familyguyBL on Aug 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Very informative and interesting. I find it very enjoyable and highly recommend!

One of the best rock critics around

by Bwelk608 on Aug 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Steven Hyden is easily one of the best rock critics writing about music or otherwise today, and I love this podcast for two reasons: It's one of the few that is dedicated to rock specifically and shows a deep love for music with guitars that makes you feel something, and it goes beyond being a podcast that just reviews albums. It's discussion of trends and history is so thoughtful and learned and perceptive to the Internet music culture today, and he gets equally great rock critics and writers to talk shop with him. The interviews with rock stars are solid too, and I especially enjoyed listening to Hyden geek out talking to Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick. Keep it going!

Good content but production needs work

by Handsome John Pruitt on Aug 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

First the good: Hyden is an engaging hose and has interesting topics and guests week to week. If you want to listen to smart talk about "rock" music this is a great podcast. The bad: It is not a deal breaker but the audio levels of the participants is often out of sync. Meaning: Hyden will be talking and the volume is good, then his guest will talk and you need to strain to hear then; if you turn it up Hyden will come back like the voice of God.

Real Rock Talk

by renmag on Jun 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I had to stop listening to some other music podcasts because there was the feel that they only discussed a band because it felt "cool" or required to do so. Steven Hyden creates conversation in which his passion for the musicians is evident and refreshing.

Smart rocking!

by ecwllm on Jun 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Hyden explores -- and celebrates! -- rock music thoughtfully, passionately and fair-mindedly. Whether he's knocking around a subject such as Radiohead with a fellow music scribe or interviewing someone such as Beach Slang's Jame Alex, Hyden's show is always fun and engaging.

Just Listen

by Imdavidfletcher on May 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A life affirming conversation between James Alex of Beach Slang and Steven Hyden.

Rock nerdery supreme

by DJ Baconfat on May 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Steven tends to ramble a bit, but that's only what I would also do if I had my own podcast. Can't wait for him to host the following guests: Rob Sheffield, Jim DeRogatis, Mike Powell, Tom Breihan, Maura Johnston, Daphne Carr, Sasha Frere-Jones, and - of course - Chris Ott.

This Podcast is Awesome

by Jblee18 on May 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Feel like I've been waiting for this podcast my entire life. Must listen for fans of Indie Rock.