Average rating:

4.5
out of 715 ratings.

Presidential Reality Check

by Emily Zier on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just discovered this podcast, and can not recommend it enough - it’s extremely addictive...which has led me to binge listen to the series. On several occasions I have felt chills, as Lillian Cunningham reveals facts about our forefathers. Definitely something to consider listening to, especially in 2017 to put recent events into perspective, and to remember and understand the past and how we got to where we are today.

Love!

by Jackie Uchiha on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always listen to this podcast during school.

Fascinating

by The Man of Cash on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Enjoy listening to the podcast. Production quality has improved from the early episodes. Look foward to Constitutional.

A must listen

by AUniqueNicknameForReviews on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well sourced. Everyone should listen to gain a better understanding of the past.

Good intentions, questionable delivery

by Shawnman83 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I'm liking the history presented. It can use some help in the area of editing. Narrators voice is calm and soothing but one of the guests, you can hear the lip smacking or something which is just annoying.Hopefully, the delivery gets better, seeing as I'm only into the first couple episodes. I like the info being presented thus far. I wouldn't mind just knowing if the people speaking have a certain bias. I mean, at least be honest about it.

Highly Entertaining!!!

by 90'KEYS on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Washington Post’s Presidential is an awesome look at the many different characters who have held the highest office in the land as Commander & Chief. Lilian Cunningham performs a wonderful blend of highly imaginative narrations of our nations presidents lives & interesting in depth interviews with some of the most highly qualified historians. Presidential is both an interesting & entertaining podcast. I thoroughly enjoyed this podcast & would highly recommend it!!!

History meets pop culture. Well done. Smart. Engaging.

by Patgerding on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love. Fantastic

Favorite podcast ever

by Colby625 on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this podcast so much that I have listened to every episode at least twice. Lillian Cunningham does a wonderful job of crafting the stories of each president in a way that no history class throughout my life ever could. It is honest and fresh, and I found myself deeply moved by every episode.

Host's vocal style

by upstate-vc on Sep 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The content seems great, but the host speaks with a vocal upspeak and frequently a vocal fry. I'm a female millennial and I know that these vocal habits are synonymous with my generation. I consciously work on eliminated my own upspeak and vocal fry because I can hear that it is so grating and unprofessional sounding in others people. It's like nails on a chalkboard and renders this podcast unlistenable to me.

Wow!

by Theenglishdiva on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Entertaining & informative!!

Left wing perspective and judgement on the Presidents

by theanerican on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoyed listening to a well produced podcast. However the podcast is not a history podcast and comes from a hard leftwing perspective. Most episodes are filled with moral judgements which have nothing to do with what actually occurred or the time period in which they occurred. The podcasters favorites one term presidents receive far more attention then their failed presidencies deserve. While presidents who actually accomplished quite a bit are judged failures. The most amusing part was during the carter episode when a non-evangelical was used to explain the evangelicals. It was clear he was prejudice and had no problem slandering them as racist.

Great trip through our country's history

by Beckstr4 on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like your approach to these episodes. While presidential history can be quite mundane and dry, you have done a great job of adding depth and intrigue to theses stories. I've always wanted to learn more about our presidents and this podcast helped me do it! I love the blind date question, adds a bit of humor and I love hearing how historians react when asked!

Hope for Trump

by Xandercrisp on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I found this after the Trump election, and I am not a Trump fan. This podcast did a good job of showing me that every single aspect of him I despise has shown up in an earlier president, and some of them were pretty good for the country. It gives me hope. Overall, you promise a thumbnail sketch of each president, while noting that you can't do justice to them in the amount of time you have. You do that. I have enjoyed this far more than any History class I have ever had.

wonderful

by LauraSomerville on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to it after 2016 election ended and it really made me feel a lot better -- that we have gone through some really terrible sh*t in this country but we get through it and we get better.

I found this AFTER the election

by BritBrit043 on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I personally love this podcast. I've learned so much and I've even started a challenge to read at least 1 biography of each president. This doesn't need fancy music or sound effects, we need to remember to respect the office of the presidency and those who served our country.

I wish it didn't have to end

by uncle dude on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently finished a 5,000 mile journey through the western U.S. and having this podcast to listen to made the driving so much more worthwhile. I learned a lot and the podcast was entertaining as well. Good job Ms. Cunningham.

Highly recommended

by CSScience on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cough this once it was complete and binge listened. I found it very interesting, and even wished for more! I have recommended this to everyone I know.

Connecting me with history.

by Cetina05 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I got to say this podcast has made history real. It's help me realize all presidents were flawed and not everyone was ready to be one.

Inaccurate and biased

by Peanutlabdog on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not enough research done. Conclusions are popular but not necessarily accurate.

Great historical podcast

by David in Jackson on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learned much about the presidents I didn't know anything about.

Meh

by 88cleve on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Pretty left leaning. Some interesting facts. If everything could be presented without the WP spin on it, I think it would be better.

Outstanding

by Unica Sola on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nuanced and extremely poignant. LC et al. have a real gift-- and they have given us one. Thank you!

Great

by HuJo742 on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great

One of the best history podcasts

by iamdelilah on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cherish my 30-40 minutes with each president, and love the journalism + history storytelling style.

Very Interesting but Now Missing

by Lasarah555 on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I very much enjoyed the series during the election period lat year. When i recently went back to re-listen to the Podcast, I was dismayed to find that a number of the early podcasts are unavailable for download. I would like to listen to them again, but with them missing, it is difficult.

Great if you are a left leaning millennial

by muzbuz on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Wonderful concept, buy unfortunately diluted by leftist influences. Too many WaPo guests who undoubtedly are of liberal persuasion and can't help but interjecting their own biases.

A thorough look at every president

by YipeeKaiYay on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And I love the blind date question

I Love This Show -- Really Addictive!

by DaveOhNo on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm consistently impressed with WashPo podcasts and their superior quality. Presidential is a hit. Rather than try to cram an entire bio into forty minutes, the show aims for the essence of the man without giving you a cradle-to-grave approach. I haven't listen to all of them yet, but I've enjoyed everyone I've consumed so far. I am listening to them out of historical order, so there's no need to start at the beginning because each episode stands out on its own. I particularly liked the ones about Obama, Truman, Harding, and Grant.

Playful and informative

by Dnnwise on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Variety of perspectives but also some confortable consistency in approach. Really learning a lot from this! Lillian Cunningham's voice isn't announcer- quality but I can get over it. She is genuine.

Narrator biggest problem

by smbc beast on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the topic but the narrator is clueless and relies on other coworkers for any substance. No I don't care if I would go on a date with James Monroe.

Extremely Informative and Interesting

by Mrs_Hairysun on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The content is substantive yet interesting and personal. It's a good balance of what you should know about presidents. Glad to see something like this as a podcast.

My Presidential Roadtrip Podcast

by joshseesscrolls on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have loved listening to this insightful podcast as I travel the US visiting the sites associated with the discussion!

An incredible journey

by Elio (Marcos) on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a kid, I'd go to the library to read up as much as I could about the presidents. I had a poster with all of them on my wall and needless to say, I loved presidential history. This podcast series was an incredible way to re-spark this passion and learn way more about the Presidents than I could've ever known. The guests are great and Lily does a wonderful job story telling and digging deeper. It was a treat to listen to every week for a year. Can't wait for Season 2!

I've really enjoyed this...

by 12835() on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...because it's simply entertaining, but also because it conveys a sense of the personality not only of the presidents themselves, but of the presidency and our system of government as a whole. It's a reminder that we are all just a bunch of everyday people in America, from your house to the White House.

Awesome

by spork4beans on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for all the effort you put into this.

A potentially dry subject somehow made even drier

by He who shall remain nameless on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wanted to like this podcast and for a quick second I thought this was going to be the greatest thing ever. But I'm really struggling to stay with it. It seems the longer I listen, the more pronounced the whiney, nasal speaking voice of the host becomes. Plus it's just slow and needs better editing. This podcast takes what could potentially be a very dry subject and somehow makes it even drier.I love the idea of this though. I wish someone else would just remake the whole thing from scratch.

OK podcast but...

by childish drivel on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's a bit under-produced and I HATE the "blind date" question. It's silly and sophomoric. Many better ways to get at same information.

fabulous

by revcate on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I so enjoyed this when it was coming out ‘live’. I have recommended it to many and hope there are some new ideas coming!

Didn't you have …

by PhelineCat on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lillian, my dear, weren't you brainstorming ideas for a second series related to the recurring theme of presidents? I understand if the Trumpian phase threw you for a loop- even my non-political podcast hosts were depressed after the election but you presented a level demeanor. Impressive. I've tried to come up with things- how about the big political mistakes of each president? Their Special Prosecutors? Their idiotic cabinet appointees and shocking firing? Oh yeah- they weren't all Trumpian. Big scandals- the attacks on the Clintons since before Bill's first term? Maybe Senate Majority Leader? Stolen judgeships?

Well done, fascinating podcast

by Aaron Fischman on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love history and politics, so I started this podcast in January and am still working my way through all the episodes, actually going in the reverse direction. In other words, I started with the Nov. 9 episode and am gradually going further back in time with the goal of finishing with the George Washington show. I wonder how that changes my listening (and learning) experience, but I went that route because I can more closely relate to more modern administrations and was initially most excited about starting there. Depending on the guest and I guess, to a certain extent the president being covered, the shows can be hit or miss. Most, however, I find very enjoyable. Minor areas can be cleaned up, but I realize releasing an error-free episode every week can be awfully time-consuming, especially when those working on the podcast presumably have many other non-show duties with the Washington Post. A few examples: In the GW Bush ep, right before the 20-min mark, the host says Bush takes office in January of 2011 instead of 2001. That seems like it would have been easily caught if even one or two people listened to it before air. Another example, and this isn't entirely the host's fault (it mostly isn't), is that her colleague, Robert Costa, has no idea how to properly pronounce former Israeli prime minister Menachem Begin's name in the Jimmy Carter episode. He says the third syllable of Menachem like the first syllable of China. In Hebrew names, the Ch is pronounced like there's ample phlegm in the throat I guess you could say (it's hard to explain). All of us have things we don't know, but Robert's repeated mispronunciation of the name causes him to lose credibility with a not-so-insignificant number of listeners IMO. He should ask someone before he goes on air with a pronunciation about which he's unsure.Last but not least, the ad played in every show seems like it could have been improved significantly. The sentiment is an important one to encourage civic participation within our young citizens, but it seems the one used was a horrible first take. The reader sounds extremely robotic and unnatural.

Relatable

by PrezFan on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like how Lillian makes our Presidents relatable. Even little known presidents have a story to tell. Ive recommended to several friends.

Liked it up to the McKinely Podcast

by Mike85746 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I generally thought the Podcast was okay and i had even started to not cringe everytime the host asked her patented question of her expert guests "what would i need to know if i was going on blind date with him?" ?? but I think the whole series went off the rails for me at the McKinely Podcast. The United States invaded and conquered the Philippines during the McKinely administration.hundreds of thousands of Filipinos died, thousands of American Solidiers too. there were instances of torture and war crimes reported..it .launched the United States on a half century of misbegotten imperialism. It was a major controversial decision at the time and monumental departure from our history up to then and it continues to impact our international relations to this day..She didnt bother to cover it at all!..instead we heard from Karl Rove no less that McKinely was a great guy and a great president who presided or a short popular war..it just seems like such a misfire that i now wonder about the validity of all the other podcasts..unless of course your main concern is going on an imaginary blind date...

Valuable content

by Dohertygroup on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is beautifully constructed - informative and insightful- with guests of the highest quality

Presidential

by BillyBob961 on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learned a lot. Would like something similar

One of my Favorite Podcasts!

by BigSis2894 on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These just get better and better as you go along. I truly feel like I have a better understanding of American history, world history, and, most importantly, a context to understand the issues of today. While it is extremely informative, it is also kept light and fun so you don't feel like you're in a boring classroom. I would recommend this to anyone and have already gotten many friends to listen to it who love it too!

Journey through the Presidency

by AMR736 on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's an interesting journey through the presidency. It's very well sourced. I learned a lot of facts about Presidents I didn't know before and got into reading about Presidents again. Keep it up!

Great content!

by Jaci Trz on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the content, but seems low quality in its editing. I am learning alot about the presidents though!

Awesome concept and content but...

by gmoneyswag.com on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's obviously too late now to address but the host, Lillian Cunningham is speaking WAYYYYY too slowly.

Great primer on American history

by Recalcitrare on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a completely non-partisan podcast that explores the character of our former presidents with expert interviews from people who were either there when it happened or who have spent their whole lives studying these presidents & their eras. Presidential is a great primer for anyone wanting to dive through American history.Looking forward to Season 2!

My Happy Place

by Jillykc on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I was a history major many moons ago and so appreciate this fun and credible look inside the lives of all of our presidents. I am particularly impressed with the experts who have been assembled to contribute to the content. I'm only on JQA, but am looking forward to learning more about the lesser known presidents. Only one small criticism, is that the podcasts starts off with the clip of Richard Nixon resigning before hearing more inspirational clips from FDR and JFK. Couldn't we have started off with something other than the only president who resigned? Oh well. I konw they are done with episodes, but I'm so grateful that I have many more before me to listen to.