Average rating:

4.5
out of 1203 ratings.

So interesting and easy to understand

by CandiceMcF on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Do you know the difference between Madison and Monroe? One dealt with a fire at the White House. The other inadvertently created a long-lasting controversial doctrine. Learn all sorts of cool things from this podcast!

Presidents like you’ve never known them

by Leejay41 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I reluctantly started listening to these podcasts, thinking they would be the same dusty, boring recitations of facts about the presidents that I was exposed to in high school. Not at all! I was hooked from George Washington on because of all the facts unknown to me and by the clever and oh, so entertaining presentation. I plan to listen to them all again.

The Best

by lg-x-y-z on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Certainly one of the best podcasts available. Presented with real insight into what it takes to make a great podcast.

Bad

by scottD125 on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Between the sound effects and background dialogue drowning out the interviews, the silly music and the amount of time taken telling us what she is going to do instead of just doing it, this podcast is highly unlistenable and disappointing.

Interesting back stories

by 4d mynd on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love history, but this podcast gives info not usually covered in the broader history preentations. Interesting, informative, well presented. Makes me look forward to getting to the next episode.

A wonderful podcast for history nerds like me!

by DavidEastman on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is interesting, funny and succinct. A really worth while podcast. The host is great, her questions are witty and compelling. I'm only up to MVB, but looking forward to listening to all of them!

What the staff of the Washington Post think of the Presidents

by ChrisMVB on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Reviewed as of having listened to every episode through to JFK.The political biases of this podcast are so pervasive and subtle that I don't think the staff at WaPo even realize that they're being biased when they indulge in them. The Madison, Wilson, and Coolidge episodes are particularly noteworthy in their framing of each of these Presidents as modern left-of-center politicians (the Wilson example is particularly galling, as it comes immediately after paying the briefest of lip service to his atrocious record on civil rights for blacks and civil liberties in general during WW1).Note: I give every podcast I review either 5 stars or 1 star.

Exactly what I expected

by Jena3186 on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I do not mind the production value. I wasn’t here for orchestrated listening. I came for the content. I wanted to learn something, and that is what I’m getting. I didn’t get the impression this was to be a performance kind of show so I didn’t go in expecting that. For me it plays out as being taken for the journey, from conversation to conversation. I’m a few shows in and I’m enjoying it.

Three episodes in

by Sbowe72 on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I am three episodes in so far. And I love the concept so far. My criticism is you are focused too much on the issues outside of the presidency. Take Jefferson for example, yes he owned slaves but there was really only a need to mention the hipocracy of it once. Not make it the central theme of the episode. I still have an open mind on this but this episode I think left a bad taste. And yes I know I am writing this review in 2018 when this series is probably already over

Great listen!

by Tinyzinterfere on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great place to start on researching any of the presidents

Loved This Podcast

by rander427 on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a fun journey through American history. I learned so much. Really enjoyed this, and had great guests! Also loved hearing you really hit your stride in Constitutional. Can't wait to see what you do next!

Podcast won’t play

by Dakota92082 on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

iOS 11+ downloaded but won’t play. Disappointed.

My commute for months

by Expert(: on Mar 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely loved this podcast! It’s the first one I’ve ever been really hooked on. I started with George Washington, skipped to present-day, and went all the way back to the beginning. (all episodes were out by the time I listened.) I learned so much and it was a lovely experience. The stream of consciousness style worked well for me as I felt like I was part of a conversation. I could even see myself going back to listen to a few episodes over again. Moving on to Constitutional now!

Great content but horrible narration

by SawyertheLawyer on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really like the content of this series and the information provided but the Narrator's vocal fry is so horrendous that I can't force myself listen to this anymore. Too bad. Please get another narrator who doesn't sound like a kardashian.

My curiosity and love for the presidents has increased

by mmmckinely on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is well done! Each episode holds so much history, not only for the presidents. I would recommend this to everyone!

Great Podcast!

by Amy PJ on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excited to learn more about our Presidents and their leadership styles.

I love this!

by Hdiskcydjdyfdshjfc on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to all of Presidential in the summer/fall of last year and I’m considering starting it again from the beginning. I’m a bit of a history nerd and I love that each episode presents its subject without judging or editorializing. It’s optimistic and downright fun. Plus, Lillian Cunningham doesn’t do that “podcast voice” I can’t stand; she sounds less rehearsed and much more like she’s just talking to a friend about something she learned. I can’t recommend this podcast enough!

New American LOVES This Podcast!

by CanadianCaitlin on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I’m a newly-ish minted American (originally from Canada) and have always struggled with American history and politics. It’s nice to learn about the more human-side of our former leaders in a fun format. The only thing I would add as a technical critique is to adjust the volume of guest speakers, as it was hard to hear some parts through my car speakers after the host spoke (or jarring when the host spoke.) Great Podcast!

Did not enjoy

by Love4ham on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Uninteresting (somehow), vapid, unorganized, and poorly edited. Segments need better transitions. The focus on which president would be a good date irks me. Teen Vogue has more intellectual conversation.

Enjoyable with one caveat...

by The Lampkin on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoy listening to this podcast, but I will say I almost had to skip the John Adams episode cause of that one guy’s mouth sounds. Like, get the man a water.

Enjoyable and informative

by No student of history on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

It's nice to learn new things about old presidents and to be reminded of facts and concepts that I learned long ago. The podcasts are entertaining but also have substance. They do not attempt to cover all of a president's life in 30 minutes but rather focus on a few personaity traits and events.

Good concept, poor execution

by Hellotherr on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was really excited for this podcast. I love US history, especially presidential history. The host has a habit of misspeaking often - Harry Truman fought in World War ONE not two. In a history podcast those mistakes should be fixed during the editing process. Hopefully I will be able to find a decent history podcast, but this one is not it.

The ladies next to the president

by EGarces on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this pc, if possible I’ll love to hear about all the ladies who I influence our presidents, from wife to mothers to staff, because some times we forgot about our First Ladies who made an impact difference in history. Can’t wait to hear more 👏🏻👍🏻

Unlistenable

by Visiitor on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Bare bones production. Host needs practice developing a voice for the radio. Pacing is good, but inflictions, nasal monotones, and room acoustics are distracting. Work on what this show offers that we can't get from reading, especially when the host is reading their material to us.

Great show.

by MJPInDC on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn something new every show and I thought I knew history pretty well. Lillian Cunningham is great as the host. Makes me glad I am a Post subscriber.

Incredibly well researched.

by pattiocon on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so interesting! I love the narrator’s voice. Also like it because it gives a fresh perspective and new information on all the past and current POTUS’s. This is one of my top 5 podcasts. (I think “Constitutional” is current #1. I just wish it was on more often.)

Not great

by Texas girl43 on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love history but this was too dry. The background noise was irritating. Too much fumbling around. Not well edited. If you can’t make George Washington interesting what on earth are you going to do with some of the others.

Presidential Reality Check

by Emily Zier on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just discovered this podcast, and can not recommend it enough - it’s extremely addictive...which has led me to binge listen to the series. On several occasions I have felt chills, as Lillian Cunningham reveals facts about our forefathers. Definitely something to consider listening to, especially in 2017 to put recent events into perspective, and to remember and understand the past and how we got to where we are today.

Love!

by Jackie Uchiha on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always listen to this podcast during school.

Fascinating

by The Man of Cash on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Enjoy listening to the podcast. Production quality has improved from the early episodes. Look foward to Constitutional.

A must listen

by AUniqueNicknameForReviews on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well sourced. Everyone should listen to gain a better understanding of the past.

Good intentions, questionable delivery

by Shawnman83 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I'm liking the history presented. It can use some help in the area of editing. Narrators voice is calm and soothing but one of the guests, you can hear the lip smacking or something which is just annoying.Hopefully, the delivery gets better, seeing as I'm only into the first couple episodes. I like the info being presented thus far. I wouldn't mind just knowing if the people speaking have a certain bias. I mean, at least be honest about it.

Highly Entertaining!!!

by 90'KEYS on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Washington Post’s Presidential is an awesome look at the many different characters who have held the highest office in the land as Commander & Chief. Lilian Cunningham performs a wonderful blend of highly imaginative narrations of our nations presidents lives & interesting in depth interviews with some of the most highly qualified historians. Presidential is both an interesting & entertaining podcast. I thoroughly enjoyed this podcast & would highly recommend it!!!

History meets pop culture. Well done. Smart. Engaging.

by Patgerding on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love. Fantastic

Favorite podcast ever

by Colby625 on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this podcast so much that I have listened to every episode at least twice. Lillian Cunningham does a wonderful job of crafting the stories of each president in a way that no history class throughout my life ever could. It is honest and fresh, and I found myself deeply moved by every episode.

Host's vocal style

by upstate-vc on Sep 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The content seems great, but the host speaks with a vocal upspeak and frequently a vocal fry. I'm a female millennial and I know that these vocal habits are synonymous with my generation. I consciously work on eliminated my own upspeak and vocal fry because I can hear that it is so grating and unprofessional sounding in others people. It's like nails on a chalkboard and renders this podcast unlistenable to me.

Wow!

by Theenglishdiva on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Entertaining & informative!!

Left wing perspective and judgement on the Presidents

by theanerican on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoyed listening to a well produced podcast. However the podcast is not a history podcast and comes from a hard leftwing perspective. Most episodes are filled with moral judgements which have nothing to do with what actually occurred or the time period in which they occurred. The podcasters favorites one term presidents receive far more attention then their failed presidencies deserve. While presidents who actually accomplished quite a bit are judged failures. The most amusing part was during the carter episode when a non-evangelical was used to explain the evangelicals. It was clear he was prejudice and had no problem slandering them as racist.

Great trip through our country's history

by Beckstr4 on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like your approach to these episodes. While presidential history can be quite mundane and dry, you have done a great job of adding depth and intrigue to theses stories. I've always wanted to learn more about our presidents and this podcast helped me do it! I love the blind date question, adds a bit of humor and I love hearing how historians react when asked!

Hope for Trump

by Xandercrisp on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I found this after the Trump election, and I am not a Trump fan. This podcast did a good job of showing me that every single aspect of him I despise has shown up in an earlier president, and some of them were pretty good for the country. It gives me hope. Overall, you promise a thumbnail sketch of each president, while noting that you can't do justice to them in the amount of time you have. You do that. I have enjoyed this far more than any History class I have ever had.

wonderful

by LauraSomerville on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to it after 2016 election ended and it really made me feel a lot better -- that we have gone through some really terrible sh*t in this country but we get through it and we get better.

I found this AFTER the election

by BritBrit043 on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I personally love this podcast. I've learned so much and I've even started a challenge to read at least 1 biography of each president. This doesn't need fancy music or sound effects, we need to remember to respect the office of the presidency and those who served our country.

I wish it didn't have to end

by uncle dude on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently finished a 5,000 mile journey through the western U.S. and having this podcast to listen to made the driving so much more worthwhile. I learned a lot and the podcast was entertaining as well. Good job Ms. Cunningham.

Highly recommended

by CSScience on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cough this once it was complete and binge listened. I found it very interesting, and even wished for more! I have recommended this to everyone I know.

Connecting me with history.

by Cetina05 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I got to say this podcast has made history real. It's help me realize all presidents were flawed and not everyone was ready to be one.

Inaccurate and biased

by Peanutlabdog on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not enough research done. Conclusions are popular but not necessarily accurate.

Great historical podcast

by David in Jackson on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learned much about the presidents I didn't know anything about.

Meh

by 88cleve on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Pretty left leaning. Some interesting facts. If everything could be presented without the WP spin on it, I think it would be better.

Outstanding

by Unica Sola on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nuanced and extremely poignant. LC et al. have a real gift-- and they have given us one. Thank you!

Great

by HuJo742 on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great