Average rating:

4.5
out of 646 ratings.

Been listening for years

by sgerbic on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews with people I've never heard of. Several of these interviews led me to purchase the interviews book.

Thought provoking

by Sprockets_SK on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting guests and topics.

Thought Provoking

by Jack32710 on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always something interesting on tap.

Weak

by Storage War 9 on Nov 23, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Still subscribing but weak as of late.

I look forward to each new episode

by neptune800 on Nov 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Refreshing and enjoyable content

Excellent

by Lisa Gunner on Sep 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

Whether it's Josh or Lindsay, this is a consistently excellent podcast.

Excellent interviews, but often distracting audio issues

by Civics Geek on May 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast with interesting and varied subjects, good interviewing technique, and smart. You will be a better person for listening.BUT you can hear the interviewers (Josh Zepps and Lindsay Beyerstein alternatively) making noise during the time when the interviewee is speaking. I hear them doing things like … opening a door, jotting notes on paper. There have been times when I’ve been so completely distracted wondering … what is that sound? Are they solving a Rubik’s Cube? It is always quiet when the interviewer is speaking, but as soon as the interviewee begins to speak, the distracting noises commence! Crazy-making!

Great show but the file is WAY too big

by ScottWaters on Mar 18, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’ve enjoyed this podcast but often can’t fit it on my little iPod because it’s encoded at an insanely large 320 bits making it up to five times larger then most other podcasts and it generally doesn't sound very good. But, they don’t seem to care. So, I’ve stopped subscribing to this podcast, as It takes up too much space.

Excellent

by LJM235 on Jan 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Intriguing guests, interesting perspectives. I began listening to this podcast years ago, and it remains one of my favorites.

Welcome to the 19th century...

by MrTWD on Oct 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

At its best, Point of Inquiry offers solid discussion of important intellectual topics and, in relation to most podcasts, at a fairly high level of discourse. Some of the interviews have been particularly engaging, offering meaningful insight into topics.But not all interviews are equal.Perhaps one of the most frequent problems I have with the show is its ongoing ideological prejudice qua scientific progress. Though the podcasters may think of themselves as progressive and on the intellectual forefront, much of their paradigm is borrowed from 19th century attitudes towards religion. It's as if they read Max Weber and then stopped engaging in the continuing dialogue regarding religion in the public sphere.This is an important point to make, as political progressivism should not be seen as synonymous with their particular brand of the "science vs. religion" dichotomy. Indeed, as intellectuals such as Horkheimer and Adorno have shown, belief in scientific progress may instead be seen as the antithesis of political progress. In the most recent decade, intellectuals like Charles Taylor, Jurgen Habermas, and Robert Bellah have put forward incredible and articulate views regarding secularization, modernity, and religion in the public sphere. Compared to them, the Dawkins-variety engagement with these issues is sophmoric.

Well,

by Macrookies on Aug 05, 2015
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Neo liberal trash.

Always thought provoking

by lyonsinbeta on May 26, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

Always a pleasure to listen to well reasoned discussion on life, philosophy, morals, and laws. A must listen.

A faint shadow of its former self

by B. Serum on Mar 24, 2015
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast used to be among my favorites. My original review from 2011 was 5 out of 5! After several staff changes and a new partnership with the Huffington Post, the intellectual content dropped dramatically. I finally had to unsubscribe when discredited journalists like Johann Hari are now considered suitable guests.

I miss the old host DJ

by Meatsplash on Oct 24, 2014
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Point of Inquiry used to be one of my favorite podcasts three years ago. Sorry listening to it again in the last two months and I have been disappointed every time. I had to unsubscribe from the podcast after listening to the episode about elevator-gate where the host used words like 'vicious' and 'horrific' to describe whatever happened to Rebecca Watson in the elevator at a conference. I'm not exactly sure what happened but I'm confident that it wasn't horrific or vicious because those words have a connotation way more severe than whatever happened in that elevator. I come to a podcast about reason to escape from weasel words like that and people putting editorial spins on every single topic. I miss DJ and the era of reason.

Amazing relevant topics

by Damasview on Oct 18, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Discussed by adults. It's not as dry as NPR can be at times yet it's not loaded with annoying banter that you hear on other current event podcasts. This podcast is like Stuff that will blow your mind and Inquiring Minds not Cognitive dissonance or atheists on air (which are great but not safe around kids).

Top Notch Effort!

by Loridans2 on Sep 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative and interesting podcast. The only thing that ever holds back an episode is a guest a bit on the boring side. But no one said every expert has to be interesting. And the few 4 star episodes are offset by the many 5 star podcasts.

Interesting but poorly executed

by El_Fino on Sep 14, 2014
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast really suffers from poor audio, which by today's standards is unacceptable. It makes it unconfortable to hear. The topics are provocative and keep me invested. I will try it for a while longer just because of that, but if audio does not improve I will have to unsubscribe.

Highly Recommended for New Perspectives

by YGlen on Jul 02, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t always agree with the perspective given, but always finish episodes with a greater understanding of the topic.

Use to be great.

by wrsmbox on Jun 27, 2014
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This used to be one of my favorite podcast. Unfortunatly I have given up on it due to very poor audio, and the female host's voice. I find her accent extreamly annoying.

Two things this podcast is (or at least the host)

by CheekyCheebs on Apr 06, 2014
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Arrogant and prideful.

love it.

by Snake Oil on Mar 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Solid. Thanks for doing this show.

Great podcast that took a nosedive

by kungfujoe on Feb 10, 2014
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

POI has long been one of my favorite podcasts. When DJ Grothe left, they lost a good host and replaced him with multiple hosts that did a very good job themselves (eventually settling on just two), though one of the prior hosts is a much better writer and interviewee than interviewer. Recently, both hosts left the organization, and they were replaced with two new hosts, and the result has been profoundly disappointing. One of he hosts proudly identifies himself as being from HuffPost Live. HuffPost is one of the leading sources of pseudoscientific nonsense on the Internet, and a prominent skeptic organization has teamed up with them? WHY? The other new host seems nice, but she's a very poor interviewer, not only asking uninteresting questions (relying in the interviewee to carry the show entirely), but reading them in the stilted voice of an elementary school student reading a book report. The technical quality of the podcast has also taken a nosedive. Sometimes, the interviewer will be cloud and clear in both ears, whereas the interviewee will only be mapped to one speaker, and often at a totally different volume level. For an interview podcast which uses no stereo effects, it should probably be encoded in mono, thereby avoiding these amateurish mistakes.

Sound quality is just too poor

by MtnmanAz on Jan 22, 2014
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting conversations, but the sound recording quality is so bad I just had to give up on it .. too much echo, background noise, lack of level control .. is everyone using a speakerphone or something?? frustrating ..

Awesome

by Rickerone9 on May 01, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome...

Excellent podcas but Need Indre Viskontas more

by pvsk10 on Apr 17, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the few podcasts I listen to regularly without getting bored. I wish Indre Viskontas could host more of them, she does such a great job!

No More Devil's Advocacy

by theymightbematt on Feb 02, 2013
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I miss DJ Grothe. Ad hominem will get you nowhere.

Perfect for the scientist and skeptic comm.

by Ptown45677 on Jan 23, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. The majority of people interviewed are the people I want to hear from. This and Singularity 1on1 are the top two "smart" podcast. As for the dissenters and their comments saying it promotes the democrats....well if you stop to think, science reason and skepticism just aren't popular to conservatives. This podcast goes after the loony & pseudoscience on the left too.

Worth it!

by Tony&Stephanie on Jan 10, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Lawrence Krauss, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Bill Nye? Yeah, I'm in. Thanks P.O.I.

Intelligence invites antagonism.

by Stuart Gardner on Dec 09, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Negative and sometimes even hostile reviews here are natural and to be expected, as I'm sure the minds behind this always thought-provoking series came to accept long ago.Don't let the roar of the crowd dissuade you from experiencing some of the most fascinating discussions on the web.

Smugness overload

by Disappointed Jonny on Oct 29, 2012
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It is possible to be skeptical and curious without be arrogant and dismissive...but not here.

Truth.

by FleetwoodViking on Oct 18, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

So Point of Inquiry, Adam Carolla, and Radio Lab walk into a Bar........It's Great, Check it Out!

The Opposite of Skeptical

by Matt Bristol on Sep 02, 2012
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Such a shame that this formerly (DJ Grothe days) podcast has been subverted. The Bob Price and Karen Stollznow interviews were great. But I'm getting sick of these skeptical podcasts that in principal have great potential but in execution embrace the almost random platform of the democrat party. The worst part is that they can't even see the bias and lack of substantiation of their views. Of course if they were blindly republican or even libertarian it would be just as bad. How about a government that has to prove the desireability and efficacy of its actions? THAT would be skeptical.

great podcast.

by theicide on Jul 01, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

good podcast. Keep up the good work.

Dislike religion and want to feel smart about it?

by looking for impartial science on Jun 06, 2012
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Then this is the podcast for you!

Once great...not so much these days.

by BlaineHWL on Apr 25, 2012
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to love the diverse topics and hosts of this podcast...but for the last few months it's been nothing more than Chris Mooney's sounding board for his politics. Chris, we get it...move on.

Milk toast

by herodotusbce on Apr 20, 2012
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Very milky toast. It's ok to be intellectual, but that doesn't mean it has to be boring? Big words, little content. Say something!

Rational and measured

by Munpz on Apr 04, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

If you can't handle basic truths about the world outside of your mumbo jumbo don't listen

Professional and easy to understand.

by CC Ryders on Jan 27, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I've just discovered this podcast, I am delighted that I hundreds of episodes to catch up on. It is among the most professional skeptic/science-type podcast available, yet very easy to listen to. Thanks for making it!

My favorite podcast

by Aviva753 on Jan 15, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! This podcast has all the right elements - intelligent hosts, interesting and well informed guests, and awesome points of discussion on a variety of topics. If you are looking to stimulate your mind listen to this podcast. If you question life and everything in it listen to this podcast. If you are a skeptic, a scientist, or an astro-geo physicist, or even just a curious Average Jane (like me), you won't be disappointed.

Great

by jrs4osu on Oct 24, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the wide range of topics. Always thought provoking.

Failed narrative

by Dian S on Oct 23, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As an immersed observer in religion Mr Johnson absorbed only what his preset values could let in. Might we be hearing his failed narrative projected onto religion. Life equals a formula is pretty lifeless.

Not bad

by Mseh on Sep 17, 2011
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

A little to liberal for me but not terrible.

Robert Price has literally no friends

by Biscuitstreetparty on Sep 02, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Robert Price takes what would be an interesting conversation and turns it into a "Who Can Be The Most Condescending Loser" contest.

A variety of skeptical topics and authors

by adrienne10 on Jul 26, 2011
Rating: ★★★★☆

Originally recorded by DJ Grothe, Point of Inquiry made a name for itself as a hard-hitting journalistic podcast on skepticism. The three current hosts, Chris Mooney, Karen Stollznow, and Robert Price each have a different aspect of skepticism and atheism that appeals to them, which they cover. Robert Price covers mostly Christian and Christian-turned-atheist guests. I find Robert Price very difficult to listen to. His voice is not a radio voice for me. If he has a very interesting guest who does most of the speaking, I can listen to the entire episode. However, if the guest is not engaging or Price does most of the talking I cannot listen to the entire episode.Karen Stollznow does fewer episodes. She also is a part of the Monster Talk crew.Chris Mooney is an author of skeptical topics in his own right and tends to bring on other journalists and authors and celebs in the skeptical and atheist community. He often appears to have the most current topics. For instance, he brought on Rebecca Watson for a discussion of skepticism and feminism just after a large brouhaha occurred on the internet in that topic.Overall, this is still a serious journalistic podcast covering skeptical and atheist topics. Each host has a different contribution to the podcast and it is worth a listen to each one to find if you connect to a particular host and their topics.

An iTunes essential.

by Noah Stephens on Jun 09, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply one of the best science and social issues podcasts available. Download now.

Stopped listening

by the Tomek on May 29, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It become insufferable since Chris Mooney appeared.

Used to be good

by furanku2 on May 14, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Go back and listen to the old episodes with DJ Grothe...they were good, if a bit single-mindedly atheist as opposed to more generally skeptical. Chris Mooney is not as good even though I agree with him on some points others criticize. Stolznow is great, but not on often enough.Price is a former great but now seems inclined to name drop and be dismissive of ideas instead of giving them their due.CFI itself deems a bit stagnant now that it's nearly exclusively an atheism organization...nothing wrong with that but it limits the appeal to a small group of rather prickly people uninterested in anything else.

This was a fantastic podcast when...

by J_-_DUB on May 13, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

DJ Groethe ran it. It would still be good now, if not for Chris Mooney. Whereas Karen Stollznow and Robert Price are excellent (despite prices past agreements with Acharya S), Chris hasn't got the capacity to rationally and skeptically review his only cherished beliefs. It's a shame that the Templeton Institute has been allowed to so profoundly insinuate itself into CFI. The addition of Mooney tarnished the illustrious reputation of POI to the point where I can no longer subscribe.

I'd probably give more stars if...

by Inglo on Apr 11, 2011
Rating: ★★★☆☆

there was some way to block out all the podcasts hosted by the insufferable Chris Mooney. Karen Solznow I like. Robert Price's penchant for Lovecraftian horror purchases him a pass for some of his less endearing qualities.

Was one of the best

by Badger3k on Sep 14, 2010
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This was a very good show, even if the host lobbed a lot of softballs. The decision to hire hypocritical faux-journalist Mooney was disappointing, but I delete those episodes and listen to the other two. They need more of Stollznow and Price!