Average rating:

5
out of 424 ratings.

Excellent content on all things nature

by WWSmith on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast consistently produces high quality, in depth content on complex topics surrounding nature and how humans interact with it. Don’t miss the back episodes; this one has been good for a long time.

That podcast

by Gorillamullins on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So hot right now

Mahalo

by Summer Maui on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the episode with Hōkūle’a! I’m from Hawai’i (though I went to school in VT so I would go surf in NH) and I never get tired hearing the stories of Hōkūle’a. Well done, was so stoked to hear those voices being shared outside of Hawai’i. Thanks for a great podcast in general 🤙🏽

I can’t stop

by ndutcher on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been binging this for weeks now on my drives to/from work. Very well composed keep it up. Bring me along on one of your adventures;-)

🔥🔥🔥

by HappyCustomer9999 on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a new Englander I love this New Hampshire based show. But I know that anyone can find a spot in their hearts for this great show! 5/7. 10/10 with rice. Would recommend. “One of the greatest podcasts of our generation” -me

Interesting & Fun Format

by LShoetie on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show! The team presents the topic of the day thoroughly with fun content and intriguing facts. The background music is always spot on to the story details.

5 fingers

by Lost on the trail on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Also been wearing them since 2009 to and have them on now. Love the show!!!

Geeky but great

by Pophgdcuindobrk on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, fascinating, funny — a great natural sciences podcast

Listen to this show!

by Bodorf on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. The chemistry between the staff really pulls you in. The Ask Sam shows are my favorite. Hilarious.

Still...so hot right now

by G many 123445 on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for making yogurt making in the creamery way fun and informative. - Greg PB

AMAZING

by letmeaend! on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They throughly answer all the interesting question, and make you go from “huh” To “ah”

Dope!

by climberdude42 on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome science/journalism/outdoors podcast.One of my favorites.

Science, b*tches!

by cjohns716 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you love science and learning, you will love Outside In. From multi-episode stories to the Ask Sam episodes, you will always walk away with more information than you started with. An absolutely stellar crew with engaging voices and demeanors keeps you interested from start to finish. Cannot wait for more, so prove Sam’s COO wrong and donate for more excellent journalism!!

Best podcast

by Bbinsky on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast on the drive home during a long road trip. Fast forward a few weeks later, and I’ve literally listened to every episode. Can’t recommend this podcast enough!

Still so hot right now

by Pete Cort on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a listener from the first episode aired on NHPR, and was immediately hooked. The stories being shared are compelling and make me ask my own questions, and challange my own assumptions on the 'way of things'. There's always something new and fun when I get that notification of a new Outside/In episode, from a history lesson about Mt. Washington, to a goofy story about why Sam's picture is on a bus in Argentina, these fun quirky stories keep me excited to listen, and then the episodes tackling a poignant problem like the Powerline special and 'Leave it to Beavers' inform me on issues in the state, and New England, in ways that I don't expect. I can't tell you how many time's I've been talking with co-workers, friends, or family and started a sentence with, "Well, on this episode of this podcast I listen to, Outside/In, you should really listen to it." This podcast is a treasure, and in Sam's words, is 'so hot right now'.

Perfect show for those interested in science, nature, and everything that relates to it

by jkhappach on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I believe I found this podcast after it was featured on RadioLab, and man am I happy! This is probably my new favorite show! I am interested in science, nature, and all the ethics and philosophy that relates to it and this podcast caters to these interests. They're PowerLine series was phenomenal and it made memore aware of sources of energy and the "no free lunch" concept. Keep it up!

Actually LOL -ing

by Susie2414 on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Giggling down my Philly street at Sam ruining well intentioned human beings- trying to be (as lightly as possible). Myself included.

Truly, madly, deeply

by Jbs7015 on May 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Truly, madly, deeply. Is that over the top? I don’t care. I love this podcast. Well written, well performed, and so, so well produced. My wife and I love to listen together. Makes our drive while doing the errands fun.

I love this podcast

by Shersingh Tumber on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve never taken the time to write a review (I think), but felt compelled to say that I really look forward to this podcast. Since it ,seemingly, irregularly comes out with a new episode, when one appears on my podcast list, I am always so happy about it! Many outdoor themed podcasts are very negative (doom and gloom about the state of climate affairs) but this one does a great job talking about themes I care about in a detailed and entertaining way. I did my undergrad in New Hampshire and now am a graduate student at stanford, so I love how this podcast connects me to so many things that matter in New England. Thank you so much for the great work. I will continue to share this podcast with people whenever possible. Keep it up! And if you ever want to talk about forest ecology or plant root system (that is what I research) feel free to reach out!

Fantastic Podcast.

by FoCo Gyu on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a simply brilliant podcast about the outdoor world. It is well produced and easy to listen to in style, and deep, engaging, and thought provoking in substance.

So great

by Fishy04 on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It discusses things we take for granted or just don’t normally think about in insightful and interesting ways

Boston Chef: Russell

by JRussell2005 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I grew up in a small town in central Pennsylvania. Grew up hiking, biking, camping as a Boy Scout. This show really brings a lot of different adventures together from different experiences. Living in the city, this podcast really brings me to a zen mood. I appreciate the stories and content and can’t wait to listen to more. Thanks, great work!! -Jordan

Lighthearted and funny

by Harleythe pup on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Like the unscripted and lighthearted vibe with smart storytelling. Finally a nature/outdoors podcast that doesn’t take itself too seriously!

Food for the brain and the soul

by tangerineSky on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Science, nature, the environment, energy...all tackled with intelligence, curiosity and good humor.

Love this show

by la-lars on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such interesting topics. I have learned so much.

Natural stuff!

by jreeves1425 on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They’ve outdone themselves! I really enjoyed “Stoner Panels” and the Powerline series. I highly recommend this podcast!

So hot right now.

by Neto81 on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really think it’s hot, I love the show and how we can see nature and the world we live in today. I’ve learned so much about our current nature and how we use it in our daily lives. The podcast usually gets very deep on stuff that we do not think of, therefore we all get some awesome useless information and some pretty awesome good information to help out our environment. I recommend it for people that are addicted to information like me!!!

The podcast that made me start liking podcasts

by Freon Rider on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I travel a lot for work and have a long commute, as well. In the past I didn't enjoy listening to podcasts. However, I stumbled upon Outside/In one day by chance. What an AWESOME accident. This is my absolute favorite thing to listen to. I almost feel that it is tailored to me. I enjoyed the thorough investigation in the Powerline series, and the story about the Fantastic Mr. Phillips really spoke to me. I've recommended it to many folks because I think it's as show anyone remotely interested in the outdoors could love. The only downside is that I want there to be more episodes! Keep on doing you, Sam (and everyone else).

Love all the info

by Michiganmom2 on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show covering a ton of interesting topics, most have been family friendly and have kept my two middle schoolers interested! The hosts/producers are great about giving warning when the content may not be kid appropriate.

Great podcast

by CKbones33 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve honestly been looking for a great outdoors podcast but a lot of them aren’t very well put together. This one is one of the only exceptions. Call it McDonalds cause I’m lovin' it. Keep up the great work

Important topics and excellent reporting

by 832749518288 hmm on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam EB and crew have really hit their stride with recent podcasts. Thank you for tackling important, extremely complex issues: from Northern Pass to the economics of Rescue. Your podcasts are thought provoking....and sometimes silly to remind us all to laugh as well. NHPR Is a small public radio station but your reporting is on par with the best NPR stations out there.

Powerline- wow!

by Romoloyo on Dec 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've never written a podcast review but your powerline miniseries inspired me to do so. What a well rounded piece of journalism! Been listening since the start and it keeps getting better. Keep up the good work!

Great

by mono pez on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun stuff

Great show!

by Kingazjay on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Produced well, great subject matters I enjoy listening.

Amazing

by skikid1756 on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has some of the best investigative storytelling I have ever heard. I just listened to the series about Hydro Quebec and I was amazed. Highly highly recommend.

Popped up in my NPR One feed

by aSophie1122 on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And kept me awake! I’m from Montreal and it’s part refresher course and whole new mind blowing seminar!

AWESOME podcast

by happycasmper on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listneing and look forward to it each week!

Great variety! Always entertaining

by spillthetea on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Interesting, well done, and funny. It keeps my interest on every subject. Such a good variety of topics

Fun, delightful discussions of the natural world

by MilkyMummy on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm new to podcasts in general but so far this one is my favorite. I love that it's produced by my local NPR station. I love the light-hearted manner in which topics are approached. I feel like I learn new things in every episode. Keep it up Sam!

Great balance of fun and informative

by tjames on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started to listen to this over last summer (summer of 2017). I've listened to about half of their podcasts since then, and love putting them on when I have 20-30 minutes to listen. They balance good dives into interesting subjects (kiwis, the electric grid, marathons, the trail "fixing" crew, traffic circles) and have a ton of fun doing so.

So good!

by saketch on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Outside/In presents a perfect balance of wit, science, debate, facts, banter, and humor. If you enjoy the outdoors, sarcasm, and solid research all wrapped up in a captivating presentation, check it out.

So enjoyable

by Alizaks on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Really loving this podcast. Sometimes the end is very abrupt but overall great show!

This is the best podcast

by California Office Dude on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Working an 8 to 5 desk job is the worst. This podcast lets me forget that I sit indoors during prime daylight hours at least 45 hours a week. Funny, informative, and relaxing. Please keep cranking out new episodes, my friends! This podcast is truly the best!

Still so hot right now.

by Inferno0910 on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s true.

Worth it

by VTsnowmaker on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a crappy podcaster, the NHPR team and SamEB allow me to think of how good I'd be if I took it as serious as they do. It's not true and I'm lying to myself, cuz they have actual talent, resources and creativity I'll never have. Subscribe and dive into archive.

Fun Podcast

by Mahanoe on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Professionally edited podcast, with a witty sense of humor. Always interesting and informative topics. Really like

Fantastic podcast

by songsofthecrawling on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Although not sure genetically distinct Mason Beavers are really a thing, I’ll go with it. Very well produced podcast with a lot of hard work and research going into it. Love the story telling style, the topics, the balance, and the science. The interstitial chats can, at times, sound a tad forced, but minor quibble. Keep up the great work O/I team.

So Hot Right Now

by Chris Garretty on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mad love for this New Hampshire based podcast

Interesting, well done

by Hal_1234567 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content, engaging host, very well done.👍🏼👌🏼✌🏼

Engaging listen

by emmers!!!:))<3 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts to listen to at work. Love the music and overall production. Can't beat the content! Engaging stories that sometimes cause me to fall in Wikipedia holes...