Average rating:

4.5
out of 131 ratings.

Sometimes good

by nocojt on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Biggest complaint is thepoor audio quality ofyour guests calling inby phone...Gary’s callsare the worst.I cancelled my Nation subscription because it was too New York-centric.Need to cover the West,Colorado just really wentblue with first gay governor.But work on the audio quality of your phone-in guests.

Great podcast/terrible tagline

by bnicklas88 on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the podcast usually, but the tagline "political talk without the boring parts" is really awful and makes me cringe every time Jon Wiener says it. It wasn't being targeted at nine year olds last time I checked.

Great

by gcdem1 on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t wait for each episode.

Needs a better race analysis

by Travis Ba. on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m so tired of episodes on this podcast about 1) the White working class 2) Bernie Sanders.This podcast is overlearning lessons from 2016, at the expense covering a much broader, inclusive pulse of the progressive movement.

Much Needed!

by ND#33 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Informative guests and topics. Thank you!

Breath of fresh air

by Ruralmoon on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, intelligent, and relevant analysis that is not only interesting, but helpful to our organizing.

Makes sense to me

by druehohn on Apr 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thought provoking, informative and enjoyable.

Concise and Informative

by Nandotunes on Mar 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast gets to the meat of its subject. The podcast uses its time wisely and it's never boring. It's an oasis from mainstream circuses that pose as political talk shows.

Not a fan of the host

by seluchaval on Mar 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The guests are pretty good, but Jon Weiner's mic presence is just awkward, at least to my ears... It sounds far too rehearsed and monotone, lacking any energy, excitement, or spontaneity. His questions to guests have this pandering faux-objectivity quality to them that I find really annoying... Just say what you think, man. It's definitely oriented toward people who like the dull drum of public radio, but I am not one of those people. I listen sometimes for good guests anyway.

Brilliant.

by mjbinaz on Jan 21, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Dessert for the progressive brain.

Excellent podcast

by Eliza73987 on Jan 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is excellent. It’s thoughtful and informative, and doesn’t shy away from difficult questions.

So good!

by Emilys1987 on Jan 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really great guests and fascinating interviews. "Start Making Sense" fills the hole in my podcast universe for substantive, lively progressive political/cultural conversation.

an excellent, thoughtful listen

by Max Bialystock on Jan 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an outstanding podcast, informative, thoughtful, well-edited, and the guests always surprise me with an argument I hadn't considered before. Thanks for making it.

Start Making Sense

by NJ Daisy on Jan 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviewer and fascinating guests. More, please!

Really Impressed

by JoannaKD on Jan 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

So glad I found this, the guests are great. The variety is wonderful too. Highly recommend!

Keep Making Sense

by Kyle46895 on Jan 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent guests, interesting discussions, fantastic host! I’m going to keep listening. Please, make the podcasts longer.

Great progressive podcast

by haveatomato on Dec 29, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Show covers very interesting topics with interesting guests, and is a good counterweight to the mainstream media. If you like it, I would also recommend Democracy Now and the Ralph Nader Radio Hour.

I'm hooked

by kikki de montparnasse on Dec 08, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart and fun--well worth a listen.

Makes Sense

by Sasha from Westchester on Dec 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Both smart and accessible. Great guests. Highly recommended.

A Top-Notch Radio Program

by JH Ft Lauderdale on Dec 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

With all of the misinformation in the media today, it is very refreshing listening to Start Making Sense. The interviews are highly engaging, informative, and provide perspectives you will not find anywhere else. I am very happy to have subscribed to this excellent podcast and look forward to hearing more!

start making sense

by mssallybai on Dec 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

highly recommended: beyond smart. insightful. quick.always interesting. funny. great guests. great host.