Average rating:

4.5
out of 3418 ratings.

Great Content and Analysis

by Bookgasm on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I look forward to every episode. Smart and thorough analysis, educated commentary. But for the love of god, Yglesias’s upspeak makes me crazy. So every sentence? Ends in, like, a question? It’s like a constant whine. Please, can we work on that? This is an audio medium, which means the audio you put out is important. A speech coach would be an easy fix. It’s not just the upspeak, it’s Yglesias’s shrill tone when he’s emphasizing something. I stepped away from listening because it was just too much; came back recently to see if anything has changed and am bummed that it has not. If this were written content a copy editor would make sure it was clean before going to print; show the audio medium the same respect.

Love Ezra!

by rehurst202 on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love Ezra! Have a hard time following the stream of thought and logic when the guy with the really squeaky high-low voice talks...even though he has some great points...maybe a voice coach?

Just one little thing...

by Hayleymajayley on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like the podcast, but could you work on making it so everyone’s voice is at the same volume?? I feel like I’m constantly having to turn it up and down depending on who is speaking.

Smart, Informative, but Biased.

by opening ceremony on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is pretty good at "getting into the weeds" of recent policy news and discussing the externalitizes and effects of different proposed (and passed) legislation. I really like the white paper discussions which offer a look at relevant but not super current events topics. I wish they would add another regular member to the show to counteract the overwhelmingly left leaning hosts. I'm a Democrat but it's dissapointing that smart conservatives aren't on Vox Podcasts. Ezra has interviewed some pretty smart red folk -- maybe reach out to join the cast??

The best news podcast

by Superzen77 on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They found the perfect balance between being topical and being substantive with a longer view. Love the format. Also love how Matt Y has reinforced my longstanding feeling that Paul Ryan is the worst person in politics.

Amazing!

by Jam935 on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am smarter after every episode! An amazing way to take in deep information about what is going on in politics. Great debates and enlightening explanations! Thanks!

Deep details

by CAH78 on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Perhaps the best part of the podcast is the deep dives into one specific subject. There is talk of current events and the news of the day, but I find the depth and attention to one particular piece of policy to be this podcast’s strongest attribute

Great in the weeds discussion of relevant topics

by JRod062203 on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast it provides an in depth discussion of the topics of relevant topics that I don't have time to research in that detail

Must Listen

by tsetsedavis on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For anyone who enjoys deep-dive conversations on politics, especially but not exclusively with a slight left-of-center lean (but only then deeply grounded in facts and stats), this is a must-listen podcast.

Out of touch

by charles marx on Feb 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This cast is a must listen if you’re looking for commentary from inside the bubble. The folks have no idea what ordinary Americans from both sides think and their drinking the cool aid that our representatives are feeding them. It really informs me of the problems of our media

good overview on what to be worried about

by the Poultrynator on Feb 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I confess I liked the Weeds better when it was one episode a week — sometimes the second episode seems to be padded a bit with fluffy speculation. Anyway. A podcast for troubled times.

Dara should try listening to the Weeds

by jdsaladfingers on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I LOVE this podcast. But I'm giving it two stars because the Friday edition, featuring Dara and maybe Zack or somebody else, is driving me crazy.The Weeds is not Morning Joe. The Weeds is not a CNN panel show with twelve pundits each speaking for five seconds each. If I wanted to listen to people talk over each other, quickly rush out one or two factoids before in turn getting talked over, etc., I have many, many listening and viewing options.But I don't. That's why I subscribe to the Weeds. I like to hear people speak one at a time. And expound for a bit. Tell a story. Get to the essence of things. And do all that without fear that, just when they're about to get a head of steam going, one of the cohosts will see a sliver of an opening to jump in and start telling a different story, or issue a correction, or change topics, or offer a fact.Dara (and Zack): go back and listen to an episode of the Weeds from six months ago. Pick any one. That is the format. If you want to change the format, maybe start a different podcast. Morning Dara. That might be a fun listen. But please leave the Weeds alone. I like it too much for you to make it this cringey thing where Matt is just starting to cook and you're like jumping in and interrupting his flow (and the listener's flow). This is one space, one of few, where you get to hear a person just talk without some hot take flying at them, to really hear a story about policy and then everyone takes turn and someone else tells a related story. That's the format. That's the Weeds. That is the format. Do not change the format. The formatis good. The format works. Do not change the format. Because it is good. Thank you.

Terrible "explanation" of MS-13

by AriadnaAridnaB on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Seriously need to explain history better here guys if you want to sound one bit credible. Despite touching upon American intervention in the northern triangle politics, you failed to explain the real inception of MS-13 into El Salvador by avoiding the topic of the role of the U.S. in these countries. The governments that you are eager to call weak and incompetent to deal with the advent of US-style gangs into their jails, were in fact regionally destabilised and intentionally weaken by the U.S. There is no denying of this and should be mentioned and actually EXPLAINED. Normally enjoy the podcast, but this was shameful...not just in the history but the facts surrounding the modern topic.

Great podcast, right?

by Patrizio loves policy on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a loyal listener of this podcast and I have the highest praise for the subject matter and the expertise of Ezra, Matt, Sarah, Dara, and Zach. One pet peeve though. For the love of God, please cut out the frequency of times the hosts will end a sentence with the annoying “right.” It makes an otherwise excellent podcast occasionally excruciating to listen to.

Decline

by Rickardio1111 on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The personalities are enjoyable but as of recent, the podcast has become increasingly angry as opposed to policy focused. I listen to the weeds to get policy information explained to me, it does that well with some obvious editorializing, and normally with a clear explanation for its views, but increasingly it feels Trump bashy and editorial-based, which is what Pod Save America is for.

Very insular and prone to ad hominem attacks

by Kleinias on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast has the promise of elevated thinking and clear headed analysis. Unfortunately it fails on both accounts. It’s a very insular podcast where they put forth the best arguments that Democrats have while occasionally offering the worst arguments from Republicans (if they even bother to offer their side at all). One of the hosts, Matthew Yglesias, is so constantly vulgar and insulting towards those he disagrees with, one almost starts wonder how he can muster so much anger Day after day. They definitely need a more moderate addition to their group that can offer reasoned insight and analyses. This would help the listener, but most of all it would help the other hosts.

Highly Recommend!

by cmsnpaul on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great, long discussions about policy, politics. I look forward to every single podcast.

A good meaty podcast

by Newsre on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Doesnt just recap- really unearths related facts and issues around a critical issue and current problem

Unsubscribing

by Kinkajouu on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoyed The Weeds for some time, but in this climate, I can only handle so much political discussion. Matt as moderator is too preoccupied with providing his own (not even that insightful) commentary and it comes across like that annoying kid in your political science undergrad class who wanted to sound smart. I like Sarah’s discussion on healthcare, so I may subscribe to The Impact specifically, but I’m sticking with fivethirtyeight Politics for a better moderated, more factual, and frankly, more enjoyable take on current politics.

Annoying

by tbartoncv on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I tried to like it. Some times good topics but I can’t get past the hosts and how annoying they are. The over the top voice inflection and interrupting each other is too much. Deleted

Entertaining and Insightful

by Brad of Cartridge Based Radio on Jan 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative show and about once an episode Matt will say something laugh out loud funny.

Knowledgeable people

by Hamhock96 on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Having a conversation. No interruptions or leading questions, no five person split screen. Calm voices, thoughtful remarks.You will learn something!

Can I keep listening? I want to—

by brkin benjmn on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Oh, dang—“The Weeds” podcast has been relevant so far, but I’m finding it almost-unlistenable due to the new number of times the hosts qualify their statements with the word “like.” This may sound cute to some people, but for me, sounds they lack the confidence to assert thrir opinions. Should I, like, jump ship?

Horrid

by Mission Accomplished on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not sure why we need a snarky weasel to explain the obvious. If you are completely uninformed you might gain something from the info provided here but, if you have ever watched the evening news or attended civics class you could broadcast this podcast.

white noise

by emmacoop on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

total waste of time, absolute garbage. seems like the speakers each eat a fistful of adderall before turning on the mic, at which point they proceed to talk manically past each other for what feels like hours. there is almost no actual dialogue -- it is painfully obvious that these people spend the time they aren't talking preparing what they are going to say next instead of listening to what their colleagues have to say. which is not to say that their statements come out as rehearsed or overly polished -- invariably these people speak in a tangled ad hoc mess of embedded clauses and half-formed thoughts, like speed freaks, or kerouac if he'd spent his life pushing paper at the DMV.

Refreshingly smart, honest and humble

by Karenworkshops on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts are trying to figure it all out and certainly are many steps ahead of me. I like that they are smart and informed yet very aware that they don't yet have all the answers. I am very thankful to have them as my really helpful buddies on this crazy democracy threatened journey.

One of best political podcasts

by Sebas Cucullu on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

one of best political podcats, breaking down current issues in a clear, understable way

Would be a 5, if Matt’s cadence was not distracting

by teaoff3000 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is phenomenal for going into root of policy reform in the United States. The only reservation I have with podcast is that it is sometimes difficult to follow Matthew Yglesias. For some reason my mind hyper focuses on Matt’s cadence when he is rationalizing his understanding of a policy reform. It’s winding in and out of the root of each sentence in his long diatribe regarding some contrarian view. Almost as he is Fred Armisen type character in Portlandia. If you can listen past Matt’s high pitch elevations at the beginning of him making a point and his liberal use of the word “like” then I’d say this podcast fills that intellectual void of thoughtful policy discussion.

Still my favorite podcast

by Zepfeld on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wrote an initial review a while ago when the Weeds was just starting up. By sentiments have generally remained the same. This is the best podcast I know of for discussing and helping to explain public policy and associated politics, mainly in the US context. The rest of my original review is below:I’m not someone who loves politics (the bluster, the rat race) but I do enjoy understanding the rules and conditions that guide the way our society works. This podcast is great for me and I can honestly state that it’s my favorite new podcast. The weeds does a great job of discussing the ramifications of different policies on different elements of American society, in a very clear and enjoyable way. Also, Ezra has done some excellent interviews [note: this is now it’s own podcast, another favorite: “The Ezra Klein Show”] with people, on occasion, whose views I don’t generally agree with—helping to elucidate their thinking on important policy matters. This feature (which I understand will be spun off to a separate podcast soon) was particularly helpful for getting information to me from outside my own facebook/twitter/dinner party echo chamber - in particular I’m thinking of the Arthur Brooks interview. The only negative comment I can support is that the podcasters do often exhibit that upspeak, which can come off particularly poorly when discussing issues as serious as the Paris terror attacks. Other than that, this is a superb podcast that I highly recommend for anyone who wants to really understand the impacts of American policies better.

Great Tuesday show, bad Friday show

by Pax1117 on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The original Tuesday hosts, Matt. Ezra, and Sara are great and have interesting discussions. The Friday show struggles with its guests. Matt is fine but his guest hosts are almost all singularly bad. Dara Lind is irritating and a big pusher of “both sides-ism”. The recent climate change show on Friday was particularly egregious. She uses a lot of words to say nothing at all.My recommendation is to just listen to the Tuesday show.

Informative, Entertaining, and Engaging

by blacklab_29 on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Weeds provides relevant policy content in a conversational format and features the intelligent, funny, and personable hosts of Ezra, Sarah, and Matt. The Weeds is a great podcast to listen to whether your motives are to stay in informed, engage with real policy debate, or just be entertained by some charming hosts. Give The Weeds a shot. These folks know what they're doing.

Great discussions, so much uptalk.

by pbc1981 on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Title says it all. It’s really grating.

Unmatched Policy Discussion

by CollinJohnson on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The topic selection, the analysis, the banter are all unmatched. This is a best in class discussion on policy issues. I devour this podcast like the same way Donald Trump devours diet coke. It's not shallow though in that way, it's rich, entertaining and informative. I didn't know how much I needed it until I gave it a chance in early 2017, then I listened to all 80ish previous episodes in a couple weeks. Ezra Klein, Sara Kliff and Matthew Yglesias, I will play this podcast for my children to teach them how to have intelligent and thoughtful conversation. I've failed to submit previous reviews because I couldn't explain how much I adored it. Thank you for making this great thing that the world needs.

Brian & Bomb Cyclone episode was wonderful

by DaniK859 on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks, Matt & Dara for having Brian Resnick and his weather wisdom on - please bring him back to talk more weather, history, and generations of wondering.

Thoughtful, Incisive, Clear

by OneNoteFan73746 on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ezra, Sarah, and Matt are three of the best explanatory journalists of their generation. In a complex world full of conflicting information, they research, consider, and then distill the information space into understandable dialogue, including where the different stakeholders stand and why. The podcast is well worth your time if you feel a need to make informed judgements about public policy and voting.

Good topics but not well run.

by Skweegene on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Hosts waiting to say their thing, not really a discussion.

I really wanted to like this

by I'mOnARollaGay on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I still listen, but I find myself skipping over wide swaths of the show. Ezra is fine, Sarah is obnoxiously intellectually overrated, and I’m never quite sure whether Matt is asking questions or making statements (it’s probably the former). Their pieces are largely under researched, and frankly, they’re phoning it in on your dime. I do enjoy Ezra’s podcast, but even there, whatever happened to dissenting opinions? These 3 have all of the answers; the rest of us minions are just too stupid to get it. Right.

Get rid of Matt

by qphm on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I see that Matt is still on the show...

Millennial Cadence drives me nuts!

by Critime on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The information on this podcast might very well be fascinating but I cannot process pieces of phrases connected by the word “right” that then stream into future and past tense at the equivalent of a 1.5 speed setting. It’s so irritatingly millennial that I eventually turn it off.

New Years Resolution: Leave Podcast Reviews

by Khglynn on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

New Years Resolution: finally leave reviews for at least your top 50 podcasts. They give you way too much free entertainment. The least you can do is leave them a quick review.New Years Reality: I listen to 50+ exceptional podcasts. I don’t have time to write that many reviews.New Years Solution: Leave this cookie-cutter review for the few(ish) podcasts you love. Only review the ones you would (or have) recommended to people in real life.Review Note: I have listened to hundreds of podcasts, this is (in my humble opinion) the best of the best. Download, enjoy, and then recommend widely.

Two Hours a Week Is Too Much

by cyberbiker on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The Weeds provides interesting dialogue on timely topics, howevy need to be. Podcasts have burgeoned in the past 18 months across the entire spectrum of human interest. The Weeds seems to be in competition with the cereal distributors for the maximum amount of shelf space.Unfortunately, for working people, the opportunity cost of two hours a week listening to The Weeds is just too great. I’ll look for informative podcasts that provide similar information in less time.

What would help

by ValueAddNotSubtract on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Lots of smarts in the hosts. I love it. It would help greatly if all of them could eliminate “upspeak” at the end of their statements and “so” as the first word of their statements. Their strong tendency to do both really undermines the power of what they have to say. Listen to an episode, hosts, and make a tally of how many times you do both things and, when you are rather stunned to see the number, get working with a coach to get these bad habits eliminated. It will let your great ideas shine!

Vox

by Starfaced5 on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ezra Klein is podcast heaven. He's a race horse, bred for beauty and speed, this is his medium. Would have enjoyed Maddow interview more, but ardor for her has cooled. She's stuck on herself. Hope it doesn't happen to Ezra that way. They are both wrong opposing term limits. Geritol-sucking celebrity Congressmembers are holding us back, dump Congress. That's where Ezra comes in, he can examine national policy with a jeweler's lupe. Combine that extraordinary ability with his genuine likable-ness, Ezra brings out the best in people he interviews. Podcast heaven.

Easy AND deep

by Mercster on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Accessible way to get a wonkier take on current issues in the mews

Condescending

by seesimon on Dec 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Saying “like” and “right” in every sentence is getting tiresome, gang.

Keep in mind I’m a fan

by laveez on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Man..the cadence of your voice and the weird emphasis on every single pause..it legitimately distracts from what is truly one of the best conversations in the podcast universe. You don’t have to hit every noun with a high note like your listener isn’t going to hear it, just speak like we’re having a beer. Other than that, love how you guys give layers of context to what’s going on that every level of wonk can appreciate

Wonderful discussions

by Tommy-O2545678Hello on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Extraordinarily intelligent, well-spoken, thoughtful and fair-minded review of all topics discussed. Ditto to other Vox podcasts.

Sarah Kliff for President

by Heyryanbailey on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Love the weeds!!!

by jrogers2 on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best around for real

Great

by ugh_l on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast - very informative! Listen every week! Even the frequent moralizing is enjoyable.