Average rating:

4.5
out of 3999 ratings.

Annoying vocal habits, right?

by Critime on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The information on this podcast might very well be fascinating but I cannot process pieces of phrases connected by the word “right” that then stream into future and past tense at the equivalent of a 1.5 speed setting. It’s so irritatingly millennial that I eventually turn it off.

Witty takes on generally under-reported policy issues

by Really, a nickname? on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to the show every Tue & Fri, because I know the conversation will delve deeper than the absurd scandals/headlines that dominate our news cycle. The guests are honest about the fact that their political sensibilities aren’t those of the National Review, but even as someone with a more centrist view, I find the analysis credible and often bitingly funny.

So, sort of, like, right?

by Chimfish on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

It's true that the hosts' over-dependence on certain words is hard not to notice when you first start listening, but this really is one of the best political podcasts around.

Mediocre

by BabciaAK on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I like Ezra Klein’s podcast, this is not on that level at all

The Weeds

by Signe3 on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I'm such a political junkie that I want more weeds. This is why I especially like Chris Hayes' podcast because he can't get that deep into anything on his cable show. Maybe this is an age thing, but 2 out of the 3 people I hear on The Weeds use 'like' in every sentence - sometimes 2 or 3 times. So, I find myself so distracted counting and being annoyed by the over-use of this word that the content gets lost.

Not as good as it used to be

by Rcher3 on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve liked this show for a long time but the content has gone down hill. Mostly, I’m really tired of Matt cutting off his women co-workers in order to repeat their ideas (in a less nuanced ways). Also, I have less interest in the white papers that they’re choosing to discuss. It might be because I feel like the crew is less prepared to talk about it, and they provide some pretty simplistic responses to them.

Learn something new every day

by terrilee_nc on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is a great podcast to learn the details & backstories behind the important news stories of the day. I like that links are provided for follow up reading/listening/viewing. I took off a star, however, because Matt uses “like” more than a suburban eighth grader. If this makes me a cranky old lady, so be it.

Great podcast! Everyone complaining about Matt’s voice is a cranky old person.

by Tedddyjtxs on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! Everyone complaining about Matt’s voice is a cranky old person.

Speak normally!

by unccred on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Please for the love of God stop saying “like” every other word. Also, stop ending every sentence with an upward vocal intonation indicating a question when it isn’t. You sound like a mid 90’s teenage girl from some WASP-y suburb in Southern California.

They tend to circle the drain of certain topics

by Diana’s apps on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Okay, so I want to start by saying this is a great podcast. Most of the shows they have the ability to really go into the weeds of the subject. When they do I feel informed and better off. Other times, like when they discussed the low birth rate in the US, I felt like I understood the problem better than they did. It took them almost 40 minutes before they discussed the healthcare costs of having a baby. They didn’t get to the medical costs of children period, or dental care. And they never discussed how income levels haven’t been rising as fast as inflation. This isn’t the only topic I think they failed. I also have many issues with Sarah. She has a hard time on really delving into a lot of issues. This Vox team does best when they are only discussing ‘boring’ policy. I find those policy issues are their strong point. Especially, for people that already know a little more than the basics of the ‘boring’ policy. I just wish Sarah could expand her thinking because she can circle around and around one point of a subject to the point where I just start skipping what she says. When I do I find I haven’t missed much.

PLEASE Autotune Matt

by mclucas92 on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is the first podcast review I have ever written, and I have a lot to say. First, I love this podcast, and especially the thoughtful and well-spoken women. But I have one problem that I can no longer keep quiet about. I feel bad saying something this negative, so I come to you both with a complaint and a few proposed solutions. First, the complaint: Matt Iglesias has the single worst podcast voice I have ever heard in all my life. It makes me want to crash my car over the side of the 110 so I can escape his shrill, high pitched, can’t get a sentence out without saying “like” voice. Plus, he’s generally less interesting yet more talkative than his brilliant female cohosts, which just makes all this seem much worse because I have to listen to his horrible screech when I could be hearing interesting discourse delivered by people with normal human voices. Now that I’ve expressed my anger at this, I have to offer solutions so that this isn’t just a vicious nothing. (Also, I’m sorry Matt. But I’m sure you’ve heard it before, and you must have thick skin if you’re in this line of work. Please take this as constructive criticism. I want to like you, really). Possible solutions to fix the problem of Matt’s horrific voice:1. Autotune him to keep his pitch constant2. Offer him voice and speech lessons 3. Only allow him to speak for 20% of any given podcast4. Provide an auto-silencing function for whenever he speaks 5. Have him wear a voice altering device to make him sound like Batman or Darth Vader, either of which would be more bearable than hearing his shrill “I THINK THAT like what I’m about to say is a real important point?” Again, thank you all, especially Dara and Sarah, for this great podcast. Please help me enjoy it more by helping your colleague Matt be more tolerable to listen to. Sincerely, Concerned Listener

Great listen

by SalCacc on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a great listen for anyone interested in policy.

Out of touch leftist elites talking past each other

by Adam.hulen on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Their treatment on the intellectual dark web was horrendous particularly on Jordan Peterson. If they actually took a few minutes to listen to Jordan Peterson they’d realize he isn’t the hateful guy they portray him to be. The hosts like to go on long tangents full of flowery words that no one uses day to day to sound like they’re so intellectually superior, but the truth is they’re just as linked to confirmation bias as anyone else is.

o gosh

by The first Xogenesis on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Don't get me wrong. Content is first rate. Never the less I can only endure a limited amount of time listening to the vocally bizare speech of Matt. Why is this man screeching leading syllables as if he is sitting on a tack. Please Matt get some voice coaching. Is your weirdness the result of being cutoff endlessly so you have to squeal in such an ugly manner. Emily Bazalon was able to pull herself together and so can you. The art of public speaking certainly should have some respect for your audience to the extent you are willing to get off this ragged edge. Until then only occasioanlly will I summon the patience to listen to The Weeds without fast forwarding through Matt contributions.

???

by Thanos Fan on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is an actual quote from their podcast. “[Conservatives who get their speeches cancelled by violent riots] is not censorship, it just means they have to try to find other avenues to get their message across” The phrase “you should be ashamed” gets thrown around a lot but really, no matter what your political ideology, that is an extremely shameful thing to say.

very sad to see them embrace the bubble

by WhalterTheDustmite on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

this podcast has always been a little left leaning and , well, thats ok. I consider myself left leaning, though I'm not really trying to just hear echos of what I believe in already - but the policy details were worth it - but lately this thing has gone SO FAR into the SJW direction, theres barely any unbaised policy coverage left in here. Matt now just throws in marxist presumptions about business and the economy as a matter of course and it really feels like it's gone off the rails since Ezra went on break. Very sad. Had to unsubscribe after a good few episodes of just.... nonsense. Cant tell if this is a policy podcast or just TUMBLR now

Sorry

by Montana Nate on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ezra Klein’s parenthetical speaking style is maddening. And do all of his sentences have to sound like they’re spoken by a teenaged Valley Girl? Sheesh.

Fair and balanced but...

by gregorhalenda on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

...but I'm starting to only be able to hear that Matt makes every statement as a question? Yes, he does? It's not a question? But every, single, sentence he raises his voice? So it hangs like a question? It's the timid equivalent of all caps? It's making me crazy.

Like....

by Lizzy Borg on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really love this show. It’s fast become my favorite pod. Please get rid of the “likes.” Once you notice, you can’t get away from them and the make it difficult to concentrate on the facts and great insights. Like, it’s so annoying.

Mixed

by Allen Erickson on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The best of Vox is when they take the time to explain a very specific issue, why it's important, and what arguments are going on/should be going on about it. The worst of Vox is when they get away from that level of rigor, which seems to happen often when they make a podcast that's 50%+ making fun of a group of politicians. Today Explained and the Impact get closer to the best of Vox than the Weeds does.

Like like like like like

by pverde9901 on May 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I find the content interesting but one of the podcasters says the word "like" so much I found it almost comical. I started imaging if I had to take a shot for every "like" he uttered I'd be wasted.

talk radio for liberals!

by elysianlight on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Ezra, Matt and Sarah. They feel like my smartest friends all together for drinks but smarter and with no drinking. Look forward to this and the Slate Political Gabfest every week!

Mansplaining Aside, it’s a good podcast

by imabookgirl on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the in-depth discussion, but I find Matthew Yglesias’ constant interruptions (often of the women on the pod) and endless, mansplaining monologues exhausting.

cadence

by tina t 78 on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I think the subjects are interesting but I would urge the host to please not frame every statement as a question and with a lot of likes and you knows and rights ??It’s hard to listen these topics inflected in the ditzy millennial accent.

The Weeds is my favorite.

by Fundertaker on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the weeds. Matt is the best. Data Lind is killing it on hosting. #BetterThanEzra

Love you but please stop

by nicknamesarecrazyalltaken on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Talking over each other while raising you voice to be heard. This seems to be a new thing. It’s killing my ears and I’m constantly having to increase and then decrease the volume. I absolutely love you all and really enjoy you pod cast. I enjoy hearing your opinions and how you discuss current issues.

I mean, it’s a great sort of workout for your, like, sphincter, right?

by Closed_Book on May 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I mean, I want to give it four, like, stars because it actually is, like, sort of a smart and informative show, right? Like, with kind of, like, great hosts...right? They just, I mean, have some, like, bad habits. I mean, like, despite my sort of, like, constant, reflexive, sphincter clenching, I do, right, like, actually recommend kind of, like, subscribing, right?

Like, not for me

by listeneverychanceiget on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Discussion is interesting, but the over use of “like” in almost every sentence is distracting and like irritating.

Still the Best Policy Podcast

by BioInfoBrett on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Though I miss Matt's and Ezra's back-and-forths now that Ezra is on book leave, the new back-and-forths over Max Weber's relevance to the Trump Era between Matt and Dara Lind are if anything even better. This is still my favorite podcast to listen to on long drives and while running.And don't listen to people who complain about Matt's verbal tics.

The weeds used to me my favorite podcast ...

by Will PHX on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dara Lind is an intelligent, talented voice though more of a distraction than accentuation to The Weeds. Maybe a format like Ezra’s show would work or possibly a duo, but she does not seem to thrive in a three person format. I miss that excited feeling I used to get when a new episode was posted. Now I listen to maybe half of the shows with less interest.

Deep dives on subjects that are currently in the news.

by Ckiley on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because it gives context to what's going on in the news by explaining the nitty gritty (but relevant) details. A recent podcast about Sinclair Broadcastings media consolidation involved going back to when TV stations were first being established and explaining how TV affiliate licensing works. Extremely educational and informative podcast.

Great policy breakdown poorly balanced

by Pistolpetey9191 on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Great policy details, very insightful and generally entertaining but the presentation and consensus is largely one sided. I think the show would do better appealing to everyone if they could have even moderately more objectivity.

stop saying "right"

by catgrowl on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The journalist feels compelled to say "right?" at the end of almost every sentence. So irritating and not very intelligent. Does he not trust what he has to say?

good wonky fun

by eal1958 on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In an age of sound bites, it's nice to spend an hour listening to smart people dig into and dissect policy details.

Racial income disparities episode

by courtney.yael on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a long-time listener, but just wanted to applaud the team on the second-to-latest episode, particularly the first portion on research related to racial mobility. I thought the topic was analyzed and presented in a very articulate and thoughtful way, and it only served to make me love this podcast even more!!

Good show

by Alaskanpureorganics on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For a group of privileged white folks, they have some decent debates on today’s issues.

LOVE THIS SHOW

by wovenstrap on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What can I say, I'm a Weedsy sort of person. If you had told me that a McNeil Lehrer type podcast, only even more focused on wonky details, could be this engaging, I'd have said no, not possible. But that's what they've done here. I love all 3 of the original hosts but ultinately I think this podcast reflects Yglesias' sensibility above all. I think that's why he appears on both of the weekly editions. Thumbs up!!

Great analysis from very smart people

by Fulano D. Tal on Mar 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Matt Yglesias is great. Thanks!

White Papers Yay!

by random2Stuff on Mar 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The in-depth policy talk, of course, is bar none. On top of that, I love the latter half of the podcast with some of the more interesting and obscure white papers that I’ve come across. Keep up the good work.

Matt Yglesias makes this podcast

by Mcklssr on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is very informative, but the thing that sets this podcast apart is when Matt Yglesias TRIES to give right wing talking points the benefit of the doubt. You can hear his voice get slower and higher pitched, and he often finishes without bursting into laughter. I hope the rest of the crew appreciates him as much as I do.

Too much content

by memolo on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast but once a week is enough. I love it, then two of the hosts were spun off into their own podcasts and this one went twice weekly (plus whatever promo episodes of other podcasts they throw into your feed). In depth discussion and great detail, and I love Matt but I had to give it up so I could listen to other podcasts. They all make this same mistake: just because it is good doesn’t mean we want it more often; we just want it to STAY good. There is only so much time in a day and when you quadruple the content I have to give up three other podcasts to stay with it. Not worth it, even as good as this show is.:(

Stop with the music

by Bjkhgxxfcc on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It isn’t adding value. I want to hear educated dialogue; the soundtrack is unnecessary, confusing and distracting. This is why I stopped listening to Today Explained almost immediately.

Great info!!

by SamT02 on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great info!!

Very insular and prone to ad hominem attacks

by Kleinias on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast has the promise of elevated thinking and clear headed analysis. Unfortunately it fails on both accounts. It’s a very insular podcast where they put forth the best arguments that Democrats have while occasionally offering the worst arguments from Republicans (if they even bother to offer their side at all). One of the hosts, Matthew Yglesias, is so constantly vulgar and insulting towards those he disagrees with, one almost starts wonder how he can muster so much anger day after day. They definitely need a more moderate addition to their group that can offer reasoned insight and analyses. This would help the listener, but most of all it would help the other hosts.

eh

by liveloveburndye on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

while i like the information, i cannot listen to the dudes voice. every time he goes into falsetto i lose interest and get so distracted that i find something else to listen to. i am now unsubscribed. 😥

Great

by EdmontonEuler on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative.

Love these conversations

by PodPiperXo on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really look forward to these podcast to explain the subject and talk through the complex issues. Thanks!

Dive into the details with The Weeds

by Stu Jenks on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts to dive into the details of policymaking in Washington! I appreciate how Ezra, Matt, Sarah and the Vox team provide a deeper understanding of policy issues and current events, rather than focus on palace intrigue stories and speculation that dominates political coverage.

Why did it take me so long to find this

by DarDar13 on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such smart and well read individuals are on this podcast! This was exactly what I was looking for in order to get my political analysis fix. This podcast is a definite recommend

Rewarding and Challenging

by 38kinz38 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Diving deep into important topics is highly rewarding. In these chaotic times, The Weeds helps me understand what's at stake in the policy issues that our politicians are (usually) screwing up.