Average rating:

4.5
out of 2201 ratings.

Love it!

by BiblioDel on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great insights. Fun people.

Good politics podcast

by WHM Fan on Aug 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting and informative

In Depth Discussions

by Cliffwood66 on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a fan. Matt, Sarah and Ezra do a great job covering policy issues in the turbulent era of Donald Trump. They review what has happened on a particular issue and propose what is likely to occur as a result. Extremely savvy hosts cover the legislative matters related to healthcare, for example, Supreme Court nominations, the inner workings of the White House as it struggles to implement policy, etc. Fun, frustrating and informative.

Yglesias is the man

by Dedge21 on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recognize that Yglesias' voice cadence can be bothersome but I'm used to it now and his takes on current events are so thoughtful and refreshing. Every other news show has people saying the same things, but Yglesias brings brilliant, nuanced views that make this podcast exceptional. Ezra and Sarah are both good too, but they typically have slightly more vanilla takes. Still the best politics / public policy podcast available in my opinion.

Stop the upspeak!

by Doug and Pam on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting content but egads Matt liked the sound of his own voice. Shut up and stop lecturing your cohorts with your pedantic tone of voice.

Meh

by Pooiuuytreew on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not a very good podcast. There are a quite a few better ones out there. Particularly the Michael knowles show or Andrew Klavan etc.

Where are the Black people

by TMT-DC on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

You discuss issues of American politics and economics without a single Black person. Yet this country's wealth is the product of free Black labor (and land stolen from other POC), so they have lots of compelling research and analysis to offer. And yet discussions of slavery, for example, have no Black people. Any reasons why not? It's not a pipeline issue. Sooooo ....

I love the podcast!

by DefenderOfDemocracy on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I tune in every week, now twice a week, to agree and disagree with the host whim bring wonky subjects to the forefront. I learn something valuable in every lesson and hope others tune in. Great job Sarah, Ezra and Matthew!

Important Topics, Insufferable Delivery

by SacAris on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Imagine? Spending time? With people who end every phrase? Or sentence? As a question?Yeah, it's unbearable. They would do well to write the script and pay professionals to read the words credibly.

Best source of political news

by JBYozwiak on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After the tragedy in Charlottesville, the Weeds crew chose not repeat sentiments already widely across news sources and instead focus on two under-the-radar policy initiatives from the Trump administration that would have widespread and harmful effects on the country. This was the right decision, in my opinion. The podcast illuminates and explains complex issues that would otherwise go unnoticed due to the Trump administration's theatrics. Other reviewers have commented on Matthew Yglesias's speaking style, but I love him as a podcast host. Yglesias is the crew's "economics guy" and he's snark and sarcasm is hilarious. Two of my favorite lines:1) "This administration seems to have rejected the idea of doing good things for people and then taking credit for it."2) "If Trump wanted to improve the economy, all he'd have to do is stop lying about it."Sarah Cliff, too, does wonderful, thorough coverage of healthcare and I always appreciate how Ezra Klein outlines the political incentives behind how politicians make their decisions.Keep up the good work! I recommend this podcast to anyone and everyone interested in politics.

Informative and engaging

by filmoreslice on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great for a deep, research-based examination of current events and policy. I know the original intent of the show was to focus on evergreen policy discussions, i find the recent current events focus more interesting.

Fun drinking game

by AceOHartzz on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Here's a fun drinking-game suggestion: while listening to this podcast, take a shot every time you hear the word 'like' used inappropriately. Kudos to anyone still standing after 15 minutes. Utterly unlistenable.

In depth analysis

by Solitus Noor on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

While some of the vocal stylings are idiosyncratic, the content is deep and reflective. I love the way the Weeds crew dives deep into a topic and considers angles other analysts haven't considered. Professional, well-informed, but still conversational and accesible.

Great podcast, love the in depth discussions

by Restett on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always listen right when it comes out

Thank you

by Random person VS on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For not dumbing it all down

Matthew's High Rising Terminal-Speak Gone

by Sailing Captain on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Matthew - you have replaced old manner of speech with one that doesn't sistract from great content.

Super High Quality!

by veryNormalPerson1 on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

About time I found a podcast that does more than skim the surface of the news.

Not their best

by JimD2015 on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Ezra's sermonizing in the first segment was tiresome.

The most informative political podcast out there

by bbbbbbbbccccccmmmmm on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's dense, but if you have an interest in being truly well informed, this is the podcast for you.

Fun and Informative

by matate99 on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They really do a great job of what they advertise, diving deep into policy issues. After listening to an episode I truely feel like I have a better understanding that goes beyond the surface level.

Unbearable Vocal Fry & Up-speak

by Goddess A on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The topics are great, it's unfortunate that I just cannot stand the fake voice affects from the hosts any longer. The man has an topic-inappropriate and constant up-speak problem, and the woman fries her vocal chords like a high schooler from Vally High. Have they not listened to their own voices? Has none of their friends and family mentioned this to them?

Great content, but vocal tics abound.

by Circe Link on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoy the bright, quick minded individuals on the show. My only complaint is the over use of "So...," "Right," and unconscious upspeak. But I'll keep listening because the content is thought-provoking and informative.

They're trying, in both senses of the word

by LizaStabler on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Sometimes the discussion is excellent, but sometimes it is actually "in the weeds." I, too, find Matthew Yglesias' speech pattern distracting but he's entitled to it. The latest topic about discrimination started out very well but ended up being a review of history -- which I thought was common knowledge. However, they may be informing others who don't remember or know about the Detroit decision. It's a strange mixture of insight and belabored mulling, sometimes. Listen to it to learn what very young people think and know.

Roughly 45 minutes of pure stupid in every episode.

by Dans1006 on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Nothing but pseudo-intellectual trash.

It's gone downhill

by AngJun on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

When I first discovered this podcast in late 2015 I said, "Hallelujah!" This podcast filled a gaping hole in my search to better understand US politics and policy. But then the election happened. And what started as a deep dive into policy issues devolved into an almost religious devotion to HRC and Obama, replete with increasingly condescending attitudes toward conservative officials and voters. The low point was the Obama interview on the ACA. It was an audio shrine to the ACA instead of a great opportunity to get into the weeds on the serious issues with the bill and healthcare. These are smart people, for sure. But it seems that like so many of my fellow liberals, they've become captured by the liberal echo chamber that begins with the assumption that liberals have it figured it out and conservatives are up to no good, though of course they'll start off on a topic with requisite language that pretends otherwise. To be sure, they do sometimes criticize liberal policies. But to me, the podcast turned into more of a defense of the liberal agenda than an honest look at what works and what doesn't.

wish it was better

by JB 3002 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The sound mixing is bad. The volume between speakers varies too much and the commercials are too loud.I finally unsubscribed after Sarah quotes a half-remembered statistic..."like 4% of something"

Very smart and highly informative

by Hdkdjjehxjcfhehdoehrh374847 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're a technocrat at heart, this is the podcast for you. Even if you aren't necessarily interested in policy details, I'd still recommend listening to this podcast to get a sense of how policy and law is made in the US.

Possibly the best political podcast available

by DevKeegs108 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love The Weeds! Podcasts that run through each of the day's headlines in 2 minute segments are a dime a dozen. Love the deep dives the crew of The Weeds goes into with all of the most important and often times least covered issues and policies. Cannot recommend this podcast more!

Love it

by Jr. Journalist on Aug 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast on keeping up with the insane political climate. I listen to every episode as it comes out. Really great content.

My favorite podcast

by j_b_trey on Aug 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This has become my favorite podcast. I'm very engaged in politics and this podcast helps me take a more in depth look at issues.

I learn something new with every episode!

by LeiaCoastal on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the amount of detail the hosts go into with each episode. I feel the hosts are truly knowledgeable and haven't just "brushed up" on their content pre-show. The only negative is the speech patterns. Some of the guests and most notably Matt's up speak. If I have a headache or am in a blah mood, I just cannot listen to this podcast. Otherwise, its great!

Not Weedy Enough

by samcot on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've been listening to this podcast for a couple months and I'm giving up on it. It's not a bad podcast, but it doesn't deliver on its promise to get into the "weeds." The discussions are mostly superficial. Most of the critical reviews mention the annoying voice inflections of the hosts, but that is a trivial complaint. This podcast is like listening to three of your liberal friends discussing politics in a bar. They are knowledgeable and enthusiastic enough to make it interesting (at least as long as the drinks keep coming), but it never gets very serious or deep. I'm a liberal so I'm not biased against a liberal slant, but I am biased against superficiality and discussions in a bubble. One more thing: The hosts sometimes use profanity. I'm no prude but it comes off as gratuitous and unprofessional. Bottom line: My podcast time is precious and this one doesn't make the cut, so I'm weeding it out of my podcast garden.

Great content but yes vocal coaches please!

by Nessa331 on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I get a tinge of nausea and audilbly moan too many times from Sarah Kliff's vocal fry. It's upsetting that their team embodies all of the annoyances of listening to white millennials speak yet their research and discussions are very interesting and smart.

PolicyPodcast

by JCSreview on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For people who want to know more about policy and legislative processes than is in the news. Smart and informative.

So good!

by Izreal on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content delivered in a smooth conversational flow.

Best politics/news critique podcast

by Levi and baby Luke on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Emmett only problem with this podcast is that they don't have a new one everyday for my morning commute

Love it! Smart, Interesting + Informative

by Lindseyreneegc on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cannot recommend this podcast highly enough! I've been listening to it for months and every week I can't wait for the next episode. Almost anytime I have a conversation about an important topic in current events with friends/acquaintances or family, I find myself either quoting it or recommending it. The show runners, Ezra Klein, Sarah Kliff and Matt Yglesias, as well as their guests, do an excellent job of explaining complex public policies and research in an accessible and interesting way. They also offer the most incisive analysis of public policy and politics that you can find. Over the last year, I’ve tried out a lot of different political/public policy podcasts. In many cases, I have been either unimpressed by the low quality of information offered and brazen partisanship of the show runners or I’ve been bored by the show runners’ poor analytical abilities. That has not been the case with The Weeds. Like me, you will probably learn something new every time you listen. Since they invest so much time getting “into the weeds,” explaining not only the details but real life effects of public policies, their analysis/commentrary carries more weight. It is also simply a pleasure listening to three interesting people having a smart conversation about the most important issues we’re dealing with today. Since I’ve seen a lot of comments complaining about Matt Yglesias’ uptalk or vocal quirk, I just have to say 2 things in response: (1) To all of you listeners/potential listeners, if you make a habit of talking to lots of people from different places and backgrounds in real life, listening to a voice with an inflectional quirk shouldn’t be a turn off. If you can’t listen to a smart, witty person just because you don’t like the quality of their voice or their linguistic quirks, you’re going to miss out on some great people. (2) To Matt, I dig your voice and even your uptalk! Personally, I think the fact that all three of you have very distinct voice qualities makes the show more interesting to listen to. Practically speaking, I appreciate that it always obvious who is speaking.

Top Quaity Podcast

by Astarrh on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast goes above and beyond in terms of quality analysis and discussion. There's occasionally a partisan tint, but it is by no means crippling and the team does a great job of really fleshing out the issues they discuss. You'll get used to Matt's speech patterns after a while, just give it a few episodes. It's worth sticking it out, because they will bring to light some interesting facts & prespectives that often bring an extra layer of understanding to hot political issues.

The podcast I don't want to need, but I really need

by Joshua.riley919 on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am not a policy wonk. I barely understand what is being discussed when it really gets deep into the weeds. Often times on The Weeds, the basic overview that Sarah, Matt, or Ezra give before they dive into the discussion is a little above where I am at on a given issue. When they dive into White Papers, most times it may escape me completely, but I feel like if I can just hang on I may begin to understand something. This is the podcast that I don't want to need, but I desperately need it during this time when the news runs so fast and many parts of it are so utterly lost to the chaos that it is hard to slow down to really understand a given issue.My favorite part of this podcast is when Matt does the ads and summarizes what the service does and why it is important. Everytime I hear him describe Winc or something it is as if he thinks the listener knows nothing about what wine is and how you use it. It would be condescending if it wasn't charming and confusing at the same time.

Good Content, Dreadful Delivery

by NY Natif on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I like their choice of topics and the depth of the discussion but had to unsubscribe because Kliff's vocal fry makes my ears bleed. You can tell she tries to speak normally when she remembers but that gravel creeps in and she just wallows in it. It's so bad I don't even notice Matt's irritating voice.Guys, do your fans a favor and invest in some voice lessons.

Excellent analysis

by sternopdx on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent analysis

One of the best

by kevinpaulconnor on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts, and this is one of my very favorites. Great interplay between the hosts.

The Weeds

by KbkSharood on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it! Super smart.

Best Policy Podcast

by Hotsexypants on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting and Informative.

Best Policy Podcast Period

by nnNoBoDyy on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The more I listen to this podcast the better it gets. There are far too few quality podcasts out there, which makes this one stand out all the more.

Great content.

by MylesOfFish on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful discussion on issues I care about. But jeez Yglesias' up-speak at the end of his sentences.

Pretty pretty good

by Jebbss on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Offers in-depth takes that are very rare to find. The host's are well informed, real respectable journalists with perfect cadences soothing your ears all for free.

So much great information

by zombiesvsninjas on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best kind of nerdy!

In depth, informative, and fun

by thebasiceight on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to a new episode of the weeds, especially when Matt, Sarah, and Ezra are hosting. The discussions are always very in depth and explore several view points. I always learn something. I also appreciate the balance between professionalism and a real conversation.

Deep dives on important issues

by Lizzyjones on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the discussion and the time you take. Two things that lost a star: 1. Quit saying "right?" so often. It's a distracting verbal tick that makes the user sound unsure. 2. Profanity, sparely used, can emphasize a point. But the gratuitous use of the "F" word makes the user sound immature...more like a frat boy than a wonk.