Average rating:

4.5
out of 2919 ratings.

Wonderful discussions

by Tommy-O2545678Hello on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Extraordinarily intelligent, well-spoken, thoughtful and fair-minded review of all topics discussed. Ditto to other Vox podcasts.

Sarah Kliff for President

by Heyryanbailey on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Love the weeds!!!

by jrogers2 on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best around for real

Great

by ugh_l on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast - very informative! Listen every week! Even the frequent moralizing is enjoyable.

Excellent public policy discussion

by ArtemisReviewer on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to this podcast to become a more informed citizen and voter. The hosts and guests are respectful, curious, and well-informed. Why not scan the globe for what works and what doesn't, and adopt the best practices in America?

Love it

by Mooshette2181 on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband and I love the writing on Vox and this podcast. We appreciate its policy focus and thoughtful analysis. And all the regulars actually seem like nice people you'd want to be friends with. We especially enjoy Matt’s sense of humor - his rants are the best.

Consistent insight

by Thomas-Forbes on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to nearly every episode of the Weeds and it’s consistently the most interesting and insightful policy podcast. Matt, Sarah, and Ezra provide complementary perspectives and play well off each other to keep things entertaining.

My favorite

by Agreenersean on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best policy podcast there is...period!

Excellent

by mds08011 on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great, thoughtful, in-depth policy discussions.

Revised review

by SingItBack on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

As someone endlessly fascinated by the actual policy of politics, I appreciate this podcast's zoom-in on the intricacies of legislation. Honestly, I'd listen to Ezra Klein dissect and analyze ikea assembly instructions. That said, episodes live and die based on the topic. If you're not fairly interested in the focus of a particular installment, it can be somewhat dry. When the topic *is* interesting, it's a fascinating and enlightening listen.

Oh joy! Details! Informed in depth discussions!

by Joannzzil on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You can actually learn a lot here!

I've learned so much

by KatCerulean on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even though I thought I was pretty well informed, I have learned more this year with The Weeds than I thought possible. Wonderful people and such amazing, deep conversations. Become a know-it-all in the best possible way!

Up talking

by Tkanter99 on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the content of the weeds, and I have tremendous respect for the team. My only criticism is Matt Yglesias’ Valley Girl up-talking. It drives me crazy. Every statement sounds like a question. “And like...”

Great Content and Analysis

by Bookgasm on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to every episode. Smart and thorough analysis, educated commentary. But for the love of god, Yglesias’s upspeak makes me crazy. So every sentence? Ends in, like, a question? It’s like a constant whine. Please, can we work on that?

On Balance, A Very informative podcast

by ListenerWhileRiding on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the in depth discussions. Sometimes I think something important is left out. For example, a recent cast on Health Care did not discuss one of the major drivers in health costs, uncompensated care that is passed on to paying patients. The implications of not covering millions of Americans, especially since cost offsets to hospitals are now gone, is significant exposure to increased charges and premiums due not to the ACA, but by cutting the ACA.

Best Policy podcast I've ever listened to

by Harrison P. on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Honestly, I rarely review things at all, but the weeds is a valuable source of information on a wide variety of topics

Matthew yglesisas sounds like an 11-year-old with a helium balloon

by dcdenison on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unlistenable. He’s literally squeaky.

Da best

by macdryfrog on Nov 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sarah, Matt, and Ezra are the best pc in the world. Can’t get too weedy!

More disagreement would be good

by Middle Ground 2 on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The Australia Gun Control episode was the best I've heard because Matt, Ezra and Sarah disagreed about something. More of that and less Voxsplaining to the converted would make this already good podcast even better. There was a little of this in one of the early episodes about income inequality. Ezra does a good job of this when he interviews guests from the right on his interview podcast

Solid policy discussions

by redwag0n on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I will start by saying that this is most definitely a left leaning pod cast. They however do a good job justifying their positions with arguments. Versus just being about dogma. If your looking to add a podcast to a wide diet of coverage this is a good one

Wonky Bliss

by No really. on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. The Vox crew is great with breaking down wonky issues in a natural, conversational way that is engaging. Keep up the great work!

Anyone with a real interest in policy, needs to listen

by dviabhav on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast for anyone who wants to understand a lot about the policy decisions made behind closed doors and hasn’t had a course on policy. As a physics grad student, this podcast really made me look at policy world as something I’d want to pursue

The Bannoning review

by DPtdryste on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Left is laughing at GOP because they are dealing with Trump, Bannon and other nonsense and they are electing crazies... but those crazies have more energy than us liberals.The Left should really consider catering to military vote, advocating their innovative economic and scientific ideas and maybe catering to conservative culture (specifically military and gun culture).The Left cannot succeed if the GOP coalition takes the vote of everyone with guns, the military and the most politically engaged.I was thinking of writing a book about how the Left should run on mandatory service and populist. A militaristic Bernie, who can make us feel good about attacking the right bad guys, while advocating our society's need for more discipline. This is what I'm gonna try to run on, going to see if I can run for office on these ideas after my service ends.The stakes are too high, we cannot let American embarass itself and fight itself to incontinence.

The Gold Standard of political podcasts

by PodKaster44 on Oct 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you love rock music, you'll love Led Zeppelin. If you love deep dives into public policy served up by hosts equal parts charm and intellect, you'll love The Weeds.

Great

by ScottSeeley on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite non sports podcast. Must listen to most of the time. Highly recommend

I love you

by KellyBot5000 on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my absolute favorite podcast

No longer listening

by Isrightasrain16 on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Used to listen to this all the time but find myself not doing so anymore. Matt's long rants and interjecting is too much. Its slowly becoming more of a listen to Matt rant for half of the show and then maybe you might get other's view points.

A policy podcast that goes deep without getting muddy

by Etherius on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's no secret that the American political system is screwed up right now. So much happens every week that is incomprehensible to the average layperson -- or even to the avid political junkie, like myself. Sarah, Matt and Ezra do an amazing job of breaking down the stories behind the headlines: looking at not just the "he said/she said" of politics, but what is actually going on and what it means for people's lives. They are unabashed policy nerds who are often gleefully aware of how esoteric and weird this stuff actually is -- Matt's love of NBER white papers is a thing to behold -- but they do a great job of breaking it down and translating it for the rest of us. This is one of the first podcasts I listen to when it comes out.

How do you solve a problem like Harvey Weinstein

by Stone.Lamdan.Family on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Ezra's comments on HW were the most honest. The rest was classist drivel. Harassment and sexual abuse happens in all sectors and by men in power in all categories of jobs. We need to change the society cues and power dynamic. It's not Hollywood and media - who can amplify it. It's manufacturing. Trucking. Groceries. Law firms. Accounting firms. Military. Government offices. Schools. Court houses. That's why #metoo is so powerful.

One of the Best

by dcver on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened tot The Weeds twice before I realized that I would be following the podcast religiously. I don't know why I didn't like it right away, but it's one of my favorites now and I recommend it to all of my friends.

Great!

by deliciousbrie on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoroughly enjoyable podcast. Sarah, Matt, Ezra discuss interesting subjects like good friends having a conversation. The tone of the podcast is fun. The hosts seem to genuinely want to hear each other’s opinions and rarely talk over the other.

The show is great, but...

by DerekRose27 on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Matthew, please stop saying “like” every 3 seconds.

Good roundtable podcast

by Daniel M-M on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the format, the coverage, and the range of perspectives that come from rotating different staff through the podcast. Definitely recommend if you want to keep up with issues coming out of DC. I am hoping we will get more Weeds in the Wild episodes too.

Useful

by Coreow1 on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like this.

Done

by Mustachestaff on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I'm finally done with this podcast after listening to Matt Yglesias make an incoherent, rambling argument about why liberals shouldn't advocate for stricter gun laws after mass shootings occur. He says that he thinks all guns should be illegal (even hunting rifles) but that liberals are up to something "fishy" when they push for much milder gun laws. Yglesias is famous for his contrarian, debate-club, "well actually" style of commentary. See #slatepitch. Like Anne Coulter and other famous media trolls, he stakes out unpopular positions to garner attention and/or try to convince us that his analysis is deeper and wiser than the rest of ours. He treats policy reporting like an intellectual game, rather than an important part of democracy that at its best can have positive influence on public policy. My recommendation to Matt: start a two-member debate club with Ted Cruz. Should be fun for the both of you. If/when Sarah Kliff hosts her own show, I'll be back to subscribe.

I like it.

by JardinCook on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like Matthew’s “high-rising terminus” or whatever that other reviewer called it so much I do it myself now. English is meant to be sung, and the pitches and prosody often don’t convey much meaning so just live with it or learn another language.

Matt should stop talking over co-hosts & organize his thoughts

by Markasdfgh12345bennett on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Overall I love the show and the idea of diving deeper into thoughtful discussions of current events. During the podcast Matt is always talking over his co-host who have organized their thoughts and present their ideas in an concise manner. During the episode on Hurricane Maria and Puerto Rico he would literally just repeat was said before him, and with the amount of pauses and stumbled words take twice as long to do it. On Gun Control he used anecdotal evidence to interrupt his co-host.

Top Notch Domestic Policy Journalism

by WizardPI on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've long been an admirer of the work of Matt Yglesias and Ezra Klein, and this podcast consistently offers a refreshingly detailed, nuanced look at whatever policy issue is in the news. Matt is a far left contrarian, Ezra is a liberal-moderate thinker, Sarah Kliff is the reality check, and Dylan Matthews take is always worth hearing. Love these guys, keep up the good work.

Extremely imformative

by Jay Gerard on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Its amazing how their vocal ticks dont annoy themselves. They're so obvious and annoying it's maddening

Talking heads or good analysis?

by Beach chik on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

During today's Australia Solved it's Gun Problem 10/3/2017 epidsoe, I did something I normally don't do - I stopped listening. The reason? I felt like it turned into a CNN talking-head panel of overtalk and gobbledygook. I listen to this podcast to get solid, researched information, not to be bounced from topic to topic because people don't like what the other person's saying. Matt's speech pattern is annoying -- buzzwords and the latest avoidance lingo doesn't get it with people who are looking for hard facts.Guns are a hot and emotional issue. But they are NOT a political issue. They are a social issue. Clean up your act, people, and remember WHY you do your job.

I love Matt’s voice

by LCKY on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very smart and in-depth look into the issues.

Huge fan

by Tayfashayyyy on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the content. Probably my favorite commentary available on podcasts. I think they are very fair and explain things that are happening thoroughly. They don't engage in cheap shots, they lay out the moving parts of policy to help you understand the complexities. I'm seeing some complaints about Matt's speech pattern but it doesn't bother me at all- personally I find him delightful. Ezra is one of the smartest guys out there and Sarah's commentary on the health care debate was some of the most valuable I've encountered. Keep up the good work fam.

where the liberal media should turn for actually good ideas

by Lowchobro on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoy the well informed discussion, especially when they call out left/Democrat's for holding a dumb line that doesn't make sense. I also enjoy that they try to think through the other side and don't mix up the questions "what will happen?" With "what do I want to happen?"

Leave Matt alone

by robotsquidward on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Vox an The Weeds and I’ve been listening to it since it was first released. Been a wild run from the nitty gritty, sometimes blasé policy deep dives of the pre-2016-election era to now. Still as thoughtful and in depth as ever.

Replace Matt

by qphm on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Matt's voice and opinions are worst than his hairline. Love Ezra and Sarah though, keep on being awesome.

Good stuff

by Joe Nlow on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I could use just a smidge less on health care policy and a bit more on any other policy at all, but other than that I have nothing but praise.

Original Thinking

by Ole Sally on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful takes on important issues. Love that stances aren’t always predictable!

Excellent Content - Difficult to Listen

by BoscoVeloski on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the content of this pod, but Matt Ygleslas up-speak is distracting, and makes it difficult to finish the entire pod. It seems to be increasing lately, and I don't understand the goal of this approach. Otherwise to all you keep up the good work! Discussions of health care are especially rigorous, Sarah.

My favorite of all podcasts

by Alibi209 on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. They make learning about what is going on in the world incredibly fun.

Love this one!

by mwhelene on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great explanations of congressional policy arguments and processes. But in such a smart and interesting conversational format. Matt, Sarah and Ezra are awesome!!