Average rating:

4.5
out of 2492 ratings.

Great!

by deliciousbrie on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoroughly enjoyable podcast. Sarah, Matt, Ezra discuss interesting subjects like good friends having a conversation. The tone of the podcast is fun. The hosts seem to genuinely want to hear each other’s opinions and rarely talk over the other.

The show is great, but...

by DerekRose27 on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Matthew, please stop saying “like” every 3 seconds.

Good roundtable podcast

by Daniel M-M on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the format, the coverage, and the range of perspectives that come from rotating different staff through the podcast. Definitely recommend if you want to keep up with issues coming out of DC. I am hoping we will get more Weeds in the Wild episodes too.

Useful

by Coreow1 on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like this.

Done

by Mustachestaff on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I'm finally done with this podcast after listening to Matt Yglesias make an incoherent, rambling argument about why liberals shouldn't advocate for stricter gun laws after mass shootings occur. He says that he thinks all guns should be illegal (even hunting rifles) but that liberals are up to something "fishy" when they push for much milder gun laws. Yglesias is famous for his contrarian, debate-club, "well actually" style of commentary. See #slatepitch. Like Anne Coulter and other famous media trolls, he stakes out unpopular positions to garner attention and/or try to convince us that his analysis is deeper and wiser than the rest of ours. He treats policy reporting like an intellectual game, rather than an important part of democracy that at its best can have positive influence on public policy. My recommendation to Matt: start a two-member debate club with Ted Cruz. Should be fun for the both of you. If/when Sarah Kliff hosts her own show, I'll be back to subscribe.

I like it.

by JardinCook on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like Matthew’s “high-rising terminus” or whatever that other reviewer called it so much I do it myself now. English is meant to be sung, and the pitches and prosody often don’t convey much meaning so just live with it or learn another language.

Matt should stop talking over co-hosts & organize his thoughts

by Markasdfgh12345bennett on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Overall I love the show and the idea of diving deeper into thoughtful discussions of current events. During the podcast Matt is always talking over his co-host who have organized their thoughts and present their ideas in an concise manner. During the episode on Hurricane Maria and Puerto Rico he would literally just repeat was said before him, and with the amount of pauses and stumbled words take twice as long to do it. On Gun Control he used anecdotal evidence to interrupt his co-host.

Top Notch Domestic Policy Journalism

by WizardPI on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've long been an admirer of the work of Matt Yglesias and Ezra Klein, and this podcast consistently offers a refreshingly detailed, nuanced look at whatever policy issue is in the news. Matt is a far left contrarian, Ezra is a liberal-moderate thinker, Sarah Kliff is the reality check, and Dylan Matthews take is always worth hearing. Love these guys, keep up the good work.

Extremely imformative

by Jay Gerard on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Its amazing how their vocal ticks dont annoy themselves. They're so obvious and annoying it's maddening

Talking heads or good analysis?

by Beach chik on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

During today's Australia Solved it's Gun Problem 10/3/2017 epidsoe, I did something I normally don't do - I stopped listening. The reason? I felt like it turned into a CNN talking-head panel of overtalk and gobbledygook. I listen to this podcast to get solid, researched information, not to be bounced from topic to topic because people don't like what the other person's saying. Matt's speech pattern is annoying -- buzzwords and the latest avoidance lingo doesn't get it with people who are looking for hard facts.Guns are a hot and emotional issue. But they are NOT a political issue. They are a social issue. Clean up your act, people, and remember WHY you do your job.

I love Matt’s voice

by LCKY on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very smart and in-depth look into the issues.

Huge fan

by Tayfashayyyy on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the content. Probably my favorite commentary available on podcasts. I think they are very fair and explain things that are happening thoroughly. They don't engage in cheap shots, they lay out the moving parts of policy to help you understand the complexities. I'm seeing some complaints about Matt's speech pattern but it doesn't bother me at all- personally I find him delightful. Ezra is one of the smartest guys out there and Sarah's commentary on the health care debate was some of the most valuable I've encountered. Keep up the good work fam.

where the liberal media should turn for actually good ideas

by Lowchobro on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Enjoy the well informed discussion, especially when they call out left/Democrat's for holding a dumb line that doesn't make sense. I also enjoy that they try to think through the other side and don't mix up the questions "what will happen?" With "what do I want to happen?"

Leave Matt alone

by robotsquidward on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Vox an The Weeds and I’ve been listening to it since it was first released. Been a wild run from the nitty gritty, sometimes blasé policy deep dives of the pre-2016-election era to now. Still as thoughtful and in depth as ever.

Replace Matt

by qphm on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Matt's voice and opinions are worst than his hairline. Love Ezra and Sarah though, keep on being awesome.

Good stuff

by Joe Nlow on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I could use just a smidge less on health care policy and a bit more on any other policy at all, but other than that I have nothing but praise.

Original Thinking

by Ole Sally on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful takes on important issues. Love that stances aren’t always predictable!

Excellent Content - Difficult to Listen

by BoscoVeloski on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the content of this pod, but Matt Ygleslas up-speak is distracting, and makes it difficult to finish the entire pod. It seems to be increasing lately, and I don't understand the goal of this approach. Otherwise to all you keep up the good work! Discussions of health care are especially rigorous, Sarah.

My favorite of all podcasts

by Alibi209 on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. They make learning about what is going on in the world incredibly fun.

Love this one!

by mwhelene on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great explanations of congressional policy arguments and processes. But in such a smart and interesting conversational format. Matt, Sarah and Ezra are awesome!!

Great podcast

by Mlenecare on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Balanced, thoughtful and entertaining. One of the best podcasts in any category

Good show, annoying speaking habits

by cfanaic on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

First of all, I enjoy this podcast. It’s interesting and informative, and I particularly enjoy the white-paper segment they often do. It’s a wonderful way to learn about new research that you typically won’t hear reported in the news.That said, I’m leaving a one-star review because Matthew either needs to make some serious changes or he needs to go. The high pitched thing he does with his voice EVERY time he speaks is unbearable. On top of that, he fills his speech with “like” and “sort-of”. Why would you have such a poor public speaker host a show that is all public speaking?Guys, you’re losing listeners over your insistence to keep Matthew hosting the show. I tolerate him only for Sarah and Ezra. Let one of them host instead. Please.

^

by Cortland68 on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts

Informative and entertaining

by Sinai Staff on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic commentary and lots of fun to listen to. Political drama catnip.

Engaging Content, Somewhat Biased

by EricGuy on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like the show's breadth and depth of content, and I appreciate the team and their perspectives. This sort of intellectual discourse makes the world a better place. I do have two critiques. First, I think that the team members are pretty skewed toward the left. I don't have a problem with that. In fact, it can be a strength. But they could do a better job of being more objective in their analysis. So is this truly a problem? Maybe, maybe not. But for me, I think doing better to avoid bias would strengthen the show. Second, I don't find the occasional foul language helpful. I think it can hinder the conversation and detract from the content. Could this be my prudish nature overblowing things? Perhaps, but in-depth analyses like those in this show usually benefit from being more measured. (One non-essential point: Matt's speech habits can be distracting at times, but I still love him and am not bothered one bit!)

Love hear detailed discussions of real topics

by legendoffoo on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So much great discussion of interesting topics. Sarah's interview of Atul Gawande was excellent!

One of my favorites

by coffee_run14 on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. The content is interesting and covered in-depth, and I could listen to it all day (and I did when I first found it-there were a lot of episodes to catch up on!). Thank you Ezra, Sarah, and Matt-you are amazing.

Informative

by JeannnnnieB on Sep 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Shame on you, Matthew. You've lost my respect and my subscription to your pod. So disappointing.

Tom Weisskopf

by Tom Weisskopf on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast, and I'm delighted that it's now available twice a week. Looking at some other reviews, I find the criticism of Matt Iglesias's speech ridiculous; what counts is his knowledge and good sense!

my favorite podcast

by el gran roedor on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

no other podcast comes close... just a few people in a room talking but the level of policy expertise explained in (more or less) layperson's language is 100% unique

Excellent podcast

by Otto G. on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The weeds does an outstanding job going into great detail on issues and has excellent guests.

Love this podcast!

by Sistasparkle on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent policy insights and news.

I'm out.

by Divamac on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the content but the speakers drive me crazy. Dara Lind's vocal fry and the "quote unquote" in this last episode made me realize I'm paying more attention to the vocal idiosyncrasies than the info being presented. Too many other great podcasts to choose from to be tortured by this.

All Hyperbole Aside: Best. Political Podcast. Ever.

by mcbraybm on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's wonderful. In case that wasn't perfectly clear.

Great podcasts

by Mmmmmmmmm192837 on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good deep discussion but entertaining

my favorite podcast

by khuangster on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I subscribe to 30-40 podcasts. My favorite is The Weeds. I look for it every Wednesday and Friday. Keep up the geat work.

Very insightful

by Sunnycreek on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to my first podcast of The Weeds today. I will definitely be a regular listener from now on.Update: Still listening and loving The Weeds. Informative, enlightening discussions.

Inflection insanity

by Ecsdesignsvfx on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've given this podcast many tries, content is good, but one of their hosts (or possibly a recurring insider) ends nearly every single sentence with an upward question/valley girl inflection and i just can't listen to it. It's surely one of those, don't notice until you do, then it's all you can focus on, annoyances l, sorry about that lol

40% ads

by Sir Picasso on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I get you need to pay for content, at this point if be willing to pay a subscription to get all of these ads cut out...If Matt either stops hosting or gets a speech coach, because yes... the up talk gets annoying real quick.

Love this podcast

by BigNoah82 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazingly entertaining and informative podcast. I highly recommend everyone listen. Whether you agree with the views presented or not great information is shared.

Detailed discussions

by NPBmama on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great for when you have time to listen to a discussion that requires your full attention. They often bring up ideas and angles that I haven't heard or thought of before.

Must read

by dwalsh1221 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Weeds is by far my favorite podcast; it's super-informative, and every episode is fresh. I started reading Matt Yglesias regularly in his Moneybox column on Slate years ago and always appreciate his take on things (still think the column on eating lunch outside was the best). Vox is great and Weeds covers so many topics; it's great to have one place to catch up. Thanks Weeds and keep 'em coming!(Middletown, CT)

Good content

by MCMwriter on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the content but I have to agree with several reviews here, the hosts speak with raising intonation at the end, almost every single sentence. It's very annoying. I listened to 3 shows but I can't stand the uptalk. I'm deleting it.

Must Listen

by JediHov on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Matt Yglesias is super smart and the two-a-week reboot with the rest of the Vox team (who are also really great) is exactly what this pod needed.

Critical Resource

by Warrantless on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My life is enriched by this podcast. Thank you. The content is among the finest available. The sound production could be improved. For some reason, the volume varies in a distracting and unpleasant way. Otherwise, impeccable.

Great for people seeking deeper understanding of policy issues

by Saz A broad on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Weeds is an apt name- this podcast and its hosts do a fantastic job at breaking down relevant national government policy issues. Whenever a dicey policy issue pops up in popular media, it helps to gain perspective of the nuance of the policy and it's context in history in order to better inform your opinions on the matter. Don't get caught passing biased judgements based on basic re-tweeted headlines. Know your stuff and engage intelligently in the conversation.

Great content

by MegaJetski on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As other reviewers have pointed out, the speech patterns of people on this show are distracting. If you can get past that, it's like listening to a bunch of your really smart and informed friends talking through the issues of the day. I really enjoy this and Worldly and the Ezra Klein show, but I would strongly recommend getting rid of the distracting and contentless cold opens.

Fun & Terrifically Informative! Highly Recommend

by E Listener on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Matt, Sarah, & Ezra are a policy Justice League. They're all super in their own way, and they make a great team! I'm always happy when a new Weeds pops up in my feed. Wonderful show! (Matt is Batman.)

Dr.

by jmmza2011 on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast. Matt is a great analyst and speaks well and uniquely. He is my favorite.

Really great, stays fresh

by endersaves on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Excellent information and in-depth discussion, and not always boring.