Average rating:

4.5
out of 1999 ratings.

Greatest show on smell-a-vision

by Drekrhshskwn on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The intelligence is high, the preparation and quality meaningfully sufficient; the dynamic of the three hosts and their ability to verbally dance and spar is a gift of the generation.

Theme Music???

by StephenBoston on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the podcast. All the complaints about the vocals are valid, but they don't actually bother me much, as the content is well worth it. But someone, somewhere, somehow needs to please identify the theme music that bookends the show. I really like it and I can't find it anywhere and Shazam doesn't know what it is and I can't believe no one bothered to give the credits. Thank you please.

Needs a conservative

by Erring Aaron on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This show does a good job at explaining the details of legislation, but all of the editorializations are quite one sided. This show needs a conservative or at least to explain Republican reasoning without resorting to straw-men.

Fantstic show

by Toomuch2016 on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great discussion, no BS, refreshing

Really like this podcast!

by Joannzzil on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Matt's speech style like doesn't bother me? Actually, I rather like it in the context of this cast. Three people who don't sound the same and have a lot to say.

Informative

by Jim411 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I get a lot out of the pod, thanks

Great!

by Rossovic on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the product Vox puts out! Insightful dives into the topics of the day. It feels like a smart conversation with my friends. Keep up the good work!

Good Content - Not the Best Presentation

by Kb062387 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content is great. They go in depth on some important topics. They seem a little pretentious and the profanity use is superfluous and seems forced(might as well not curse). Also, one person seems to sometimes try to play devil's advocate and bring in other points if view but it's pretty weak.

Great policy detail & discussion

by MKS6134 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Never miss a Weeds episode. An incredibly knowledgeable set of hosts, particularly Matt Yglesias, who is able to take weighty topics and approach them with common sense and clarity.

Great for wonks

by Jmpoodle on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The policy details they go into are unique this this show; no one else does it like they do. Only critique is that they sometimes deviate and go too hard into current events. There's a lot d podcasts this already so that and not why I'm here.

Excellent Policy Podcast

by Martin Jameson on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listend to Vox's The Weeds since its inception. I am a professor of political science and I listen to this podcast to keep me up to date on recent policy papers and developments. The podcast is not only informative but also fun and enjoyable. I highly recommend this podcast to anyone who wants to expand their knowledge of politics and policy.

Unprofessional

by Newnythisname on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Who are these people and how can I take their ideas seriously? They like talk like this, you know? If I had a dollar for every time they use the word "like" in each episode, I would be a very wealthy woman. This podcast appears to be uneducated people babbling about liberal ideas. Not worth listening to.

My favorite source to get news.

by NKDimiri on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

15/10

blemish on a rose

by smcellis on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Have to agree with many of the earlier reviews--the content is good, but the uptalking and "fry"is very hard to listen to. Since these journalists' living is their voices, they really should take this problem seriously. This is especially true of one of the men--don't know which is which-- who's bright and likable, but whose voice is extremely strangled and grating. Kliff's voice is fine; her problem is the uptalking.

good info but...

by OmahaGal on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The content on this podcast is great. However, the upspeak of Matt Yglesias and Sarah Kliff's vocal fry and intonation can be very grating.

Eh...

by TMennitt on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The chemistry between the hosts seems to be lacking. They don't have a conversation, instead they each sound like they're trying to come off as smarter and more informers than the other. Sarah only talks about healthcare and Ezra usually mansplains over her commentary. Matt is unable to see outside of his personal worldview. If you're an angry liberal and want your beliefs and ideas to be validated and confirmed, this is a podcast for you. It's supposed to be about policy, but it's really about health care and tirades against Trump, Republicans and the conservative mindset. On a final note, all 3 hosts sound like they need to drink more water. They all sound so thirsty!

👍👍👍

by Yeah_carl on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really excellent reporting from the Kentucky episode way back! The hairs on my neck always stand when I hear of someone coming to report on my people. The episode does a great job raising questions that even Kentuckians sometimes have about their neighbors, and answering them in honest ways.

In defense of Matt

by dcarlton21 on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I come from a conservative background and today consider myself mostly a right leaning centrist. This podcast challenges me to think critically about how it is that I view the world. I happen to very much enjoy this podcast and specifically Matt's insights. Several reviews criticizing his delivery style, but I really like his vocal styling and find myself laughing out loud at some point in almost every episode at something he says and the way he says it. Also loving the increased frequency of the episodes recently.

I feel so much smarter for having listened to these guys for so long

by Tugger! on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep up the good work, everyone. I've learned so much from these guys. Humble. Funny. Smart. Topical.

Like

by Slibidy on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Like, what like they like are like saying like is like is like informative like. Maybe like the like hosts like could like practice like like like not like saying like the like word like in like situations like where like it's like not like warranted like like like like.

The Weeds

by mbkh85 on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have tried many times to listen to this podcast. I love anything political. But I can't tolerate Sarah's "vocal fry". Sorry.

My Favorite

by Ellie supergirl on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Weeds is my Favorite podcast. I wish it published as a daily, but I know it takes time to have a podcast with such depth. I really enjoy how deeply it dives into policy with thoughtful discussion from competent, articulate, and fun thinkers.

Love the content....but...intonation drives me crazy

by Mathgirlshirl on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

These guys need to lear how to speak. I can't do it anymore!!!! The intonation seriously drives me crazy. Sorry will have to unsubscribe.

More Ezra

by puzz_1 on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Need more air time for Ezra, who has something to say that's not obvious to most well informed people. Unfortunately he is not always on, and gets little air time even when he is.Matt dominates and rambles on like a cspan caller. And his speaking style is not made for radio.

A great policy podcast

by shiccashane on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Definitely listen to the weeds. Matt, Ezra and Sarah (and guests!) always have an informative discussion with lots of depth.

My ears are bleeding...

by Ellen_Ripley on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I wish I could listen to an entire episode. I love the content, but Matt Yglesias' upspeak is so distracting, I shut down the podcast before my ears start bleeding. His speech patterns also influence the way Ezra Klein speaks. When hosting his own podcast, Klein speaks like a normal adult, but when he's speaking with Yglesias, he starts to parrot that painful millennial fry. And they both end up sounding like rambling tween girls who end every statement with a question mark. Get speech coaches, please!

Pretty inaccurate information

by Mr. Kbear on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The entire premise of this show is that it delves into detailed policy or political issues, and on the first couple listens it seems super satisfying. But pretty quickly it becomes obvious most of the definitive statements they make or conclusions they reach are just flat wrong. The problem is that the hosts almost never actually have any guests who might be experts on the particular issue. Listening to this podcast ends up super similar to just listening to a bunch of undergrads discussing the reading their professor assigned them the night before--its nice for raising questions or souring thought, but it can get pretty insufferable after a while.

Need more episodes

by AustinRT995 on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Most informative podcast I listen to, wish you guys had a more regular schedule.

Wow folks are harsh.

by privacyconcerns on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yes, Sarah Kliff does the vocal fry, and Matt Yglesias does the uptalk. But come on, these folks are actually having intelligent conversations about things that matter! It's great for filling in the long commute with actual learning.

Interesting content, but guys, it's an aural medium!

by Satomoug on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the idea of this podcast and enjoy Ezra Klein's sister pod, but as much as I've tried to ignore the vocal idiosyncrasies of two of the presenters, I find I cannot. Now that we have a president with an extreme case of vocal fry, it seems there are fewer complaints about fry in general. But it appears to be volitional in Sarah's case as is the upspeak in Matt's. Thirty minutes into a discussion, I lose the thread entirely because all I hear is a metal can rasping against a grater and a comedic impression of a fifth grader pretending to speak Swedish. Is there really nothing you can do to neutralize the vocal mannerisms? I'd so appreciate it if you would try, because you all have interesting things to say that deserve to be heard.

Good. Doesn't live up to the title.

by Dr. &y on May 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Public policy is pretty simplistic if the discussion on this podcast counts as "the weeds." It's good, and interesting, but definitely isn't what I would consider "weeds."

Great listening

by Jon Carr from SJ on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the detail and perspectives

Actually talking about the issues!

by NightPharaoh on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What I love about listening to the weeds is that they actually talk about the issues—bills that are being debated, what's actually written in the law, and what experts are saying about the issues. They do a great job setting context for the discussion, but keep it away from just talking about the people.

Smart, hardworking hosts

by nopolecat on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate the effort the team puts into each session. Very well done every time.

Great detail show for confusing/concerning times

by MarcelMauss on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show for those wanting to get into the nuts and bolts of policy and its impact on people. Always a lively and informative conversation

The best

by Rynn kaneda on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite political pod by far. Ps thank you so much for Friday eps!!!!!

Too much Biased

by Beastica on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I'm by no means a right leaning individual but this podcast has been transforming more and more into a mouth piece for the Democratic Party. Before the election it was much more balanced. It's always been left leaning and I get that but particularly Ezra, it's almost like he is on the DNC payroll now. Wish it would go back to the unbiased format pre election. Great content though.

My favorite pod

by But the bots?! on May 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so informative that it makes it hard to talk policy or politics with people who don't listen.

Wonderful!

by ex-jerseygirl on May 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I find this show quite compelling.

Quality information delivered imperfectly

by Kilojules on May 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I failed to read a review before downloading this podcast, and admittedly, I'm glad- if I had, I would have likely shied away from it on account of the numerous 'vocal fry/uptalk' complaints - leveled largely at Matt Yglesias That being said - today I almost crushed my phone listening to his vocal tics for the umpteenth time. Let me note up front - guy knows his stuff, and if you can stomach it, you'll absorb quite a bit of factual , quality info from the liberal side of the political spectrum . However, dear, sweet merciful lord 33.33% of this is cruel to listen to. Vox, this is an audio-only medium, there are no graphics to assist and I'm not reading the transcript. My comprehension is singularly dependent on what I hear from your (audibly) high quality microphones to my headphones. To give you a sense of my demographics: I'm 29, Black, Male, and the child of West African immigrants. The info presented here works as a policy buffer to my otherwise overly scientific Med-school classes.In short: I can't unsubscribe because the info is solid , but I honestly pull out my earpods half the time this pod is on. Please help your presenters (one more than others) improve. Please.

I look forward to every episode

by Msssmitty on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It prides itself on being about policy and that is why I subscribed. It has never let me down with deep discussions about white papers and the practical implications of policy. It's a positive aprouch to politics for people who enjoy the subject.

I like learning stuff

by Snaildogbeaver on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is one in a million. I love it and learn so much. I haven't noticed the up-speak. But it wouldn't bother me if I did. Angry/ mean people need to take a chill pill. I mean really- get a life. The podcast is really good- you'll learn a lot- in a down to earth way that's easy to understand.

Good content but

by foglandia on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Matt's up speak and the relentless insertion of like into every sentence by all the podcasters makes the show hard to listen to. Which is a pity as they cover important topics with an intellectual rigor rarely heard or since in the MSM. Perhaps some training at the NPR school for on air reporting is in order?

Speech pattern detracts from content

by eurekasue49 on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sarah seems like she has sound reasoning ability so why does she turn so many of her statements into questions? Is she that unsure of what she's saying? Then Matt ends so many of his statements with "Right?" The repetition becomes so distracting and annoying I lose track of the argument. Please get professional help for these speech patterns! Until then, I am canceling my subscription to this podcast.

Great

by BR Pringle on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome

Great Content / Horrible Style

by donwtown on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great content and very interesting, but they need to stop saying, "like" and stop the uptalk. It's infuriating. I can only last a few minutes before turning it off.

Great podcast....

by Ricky.Lincoln on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ok, so people seem to have a huge problem with Matt Yglesias' upspeak, which I totally understand. However, I just want to put out there that Sarah Kliff's vocal fry is waaaaaayyyyyy worse. It's like listening to a 19 year old. Still a 5-star podcast though. Great job guys, just get some vocal coaches.

Love the Podcast, Ok with Matt too

by ZMSRB on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts, love the hosts interaction and perspectives. And, after reading other reviews, I have to say I don't mind Matt's speech, it's Matt! Keep up the good work!

Awful

by Awisom on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

About 1/4 of what Vox says is true, then they take you down the road of hypotheticals and toss out random opinions to make their points make sense. I appreciate what you guys are TRYING to do, but I think you need more unbiased commentators.

Love this show

by Blarg3529 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very much