094: How to Succeed at Your Summer Legal Job (with Sara O'Connor)

Welcome back! Today, we’re talking with Sara O'Connor, one of our law school and bar exam tutors, about setting yourself up for summer job success, regardless of the type of job you're going to be doing. Summer law jobs can come with a lot of pressure. There are many things to consider when trying to make a good impression; work product, work ethic, and interpersonal skills are key factors. Tune in for a preview of life as a summer associate or intern, along with tips for getting the most out of the experience (including a job offer). In this episode, we discuss: What makes someone a successful summer associate or legal intern How to approach your assignments Strategies for managing your workload Speaking up: asking for assignments and constructive feedback Successfully working with support staff Some of the factors on which you will be evaluated, and remembering that you, too, are evaluating the experience with the employer Resources: How to Make a Good Impression at Your Summer Law Job (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/how-to-make-a-good-impression-at-your-summer-law-job/) Getting Ready for Your BigLaw Summer Job (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/getting-ready-for-your-biglaw-summer-job/) Tips for Legal Writing at Your Summer Job (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/tips-for-legal-writing-at-your-summer-job/) Four Tips for Summer Law Job Success (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/four-tips-for-summer-law-job-success/) Are You Emotionally Intelligent? 5 Soft Skills to Show Off in Your Summer Law Job (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/are-you-emotionally-intelligent-5-soft-skills-to-show-off-in-your-summer-law-job/) How to End Your Summer Internship on a Good Note (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/end-summer-internship-good-note/) Podcast Episode 45: Writing Effectively in Your Summer Legal Job (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/podcast-episode-45-writing-effectively-summer-legal-job/) Podcast Episode 85: Surviving as a Summer Associate and New Firm Lawyer (with Grover Cleveland) (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/podcast-episode-85-surviving-summer-associate-new-firm-lawyer-grover-cleveland/) Podcast Episode 54: How to Evaluate Your Summer Legal Job Experience (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/podcast-episode-54-evaluate-summer-legal-job-experience/) Episode Transcript: Download the Transcript (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Episode-94-Summer-Job-Success-w-Sara-OConnor.pdf) If you enjoy the podcast, we'd love a nice review and/or rating on iTunes (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/law-school-toolbox-podcast/id1027603976) (or your listening platform of choice). And feel free to reach out to us directly. You can always reach us via the contact form on the Law School Toolbox website (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/contact). If you're concerned about the bar exam, check out our sister site, the Bar Exam Toolbox (http://barexamtoolbox.com/). Thanks for listening! Alison & Lee

Popout Listen on the new Podbay
Loading...