039: Battling Test Anxiety in Law School and on the Bar Exam

Welcome back! Today we’re talking about everyone’s favorite topic – Test Anxiety. Okay, not really anyone’s favorite topic, but a really important one because so many law students deal with test anxiety in law school and on the bar exam. In this episode we discuss: Lee and Alison discuss their experience with exam anxiety Your physiological response during exam prep and exams Why stress isn't all bad The importance of taking care of yourself in law school The correlation between anxiety and lack of sleep How to calm your mind and focus Coping mechanisms when you're blanking on a test How meditation and mindfulness can help alleviate stress and test anxiety Why it's important to control how you talk to yourself in stressful situations When you may need to explore other options for alleviating anxiety with an expert Meditation is not just for hippies - snipers and other elite athletes, soldiers, and high profile people do it, too!  Resources: Performing Under Pressure Before and After the Exam (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/performing-under-pressure-before-after-exam/) Caution Law Student Pressure Ahead (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/caution-law-student-pressure-handling-law-school-stress/) Defending Law School Pressure - Leading Up to the Exam (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/defending-law-school-pressure-leading-exam/) Law School Pressure - The Night Before and Morning of the Exam (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/law-school-pressure-night-before-morning-of/) Podcast: Handling Pressure in Law School (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/podcast-episode-29-handling-pressure-law-school-guest-dr-hank-weisinger/) Tips for Surviving Exam Anxiety (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/tips-surviving-exam-anxiety/) Law School and Mental Health http://lawschooltoolbox.com/law-school-and-mental-health Pema Chodron – The Places that Scare You (http://www.amazon.com/The-Places-that-Scare-You/dp/1570629218) HeadSpace App for Meditation (https://www.headspace.com/headspace-meditation-app) Warrior One (http://warriorone.com/) Thanks for listening! If you enjoy the podcast, we'd love a nice review and/or rating on iTunes. And feel free to reach out to us directly. You can always reach us via the contact form on the Law School Toolbox website (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/contact).  Enjoy! Alison & Lee

Popout Listen on the new Podbay
Loading...