Average rating:

4.5
out of 2614 ratings.

Insightful, humorous, smart, and candid interviews.

by New England Fan! on Feb 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and Ben’s interviewing style. It’s refreshing and the quality of the people he brings to the table every week. Great job and keep it going!

Everything is so interesting

by Lester Burnam on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am constantly surprised by the wide array of guests and how interesting the show is on subjects I doubted I would enjoy.

Great interviews

by OnTelephone on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never miss and episodes.

Trump Bashing

by Trumpisurdad on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Another uninformed kid who trust everything CNN tells him.

ok

by misteriris on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Not a bad interviewer but some guests are better than others. The Greg Gutfeld interview was a complete waste of my time.

Great guest...

by NyxLips on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

but not a fan of the host.

Great questions, great interviews

by hannahmacxx on Jul 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really in depth perspectives and interviews, it’s a baller podcast.

Too biased

by Rogue Investor on Jul 28, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Recently listened to the Rob Reiner podcast, he made counter factual statements regarding the President and the run up to the War in Iraq and you did not push him on them.

Excellent in so many ways

by Girdo27 on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There seem to be some people on here leaving bad reviews on here just because the host had criticized Trump. Makes me wonder if these are some of Trump's Russian trolls. I think this podcast is one of the very best and the host is very fair. He has even had several Trump supporters/campaign staffers on the show, but he doesn't just lay down and accept blatant lies from Donald Trump and the alt right. That's what I respect about him. He is very well-rounded, has wonderful guests, and digs deeper than a lot of interviews. He also covers a wide range of interests which I appreciate very much. Two thumbs up for Kickass News!!

Another lefty propaganda fest

by first2fight on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

All the lefty propaganda that even CNN and Maddow won’t even touch

Never Trump

by Skitchct on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is fine for entertainment but for politics not so. Just because Trump is an awful person, it doesn’t mean that all his opponents are virtuous. Re Michael Hayden interview. It’s far too amiable- no mention about the disturbing recent questions about intelligence community. Obama/CIA epic fail on Russia and sneering attitude to Mitt Romney are glossed over. If you’re going to have political figures then ask real questions not softballs to help sell books.

A program with declining content

by shawnsnipe on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was a faithful subscriber to this podcast since it was Kickass Politics. I appreciated the change from all politics to news. However, the programs that have been produced since the beginning of 2018, have been continually less and less interesting. I can only hope that Ben Mathis gets his program back on track but right now the content isn’t worth the investment in time.

Left wing bias gets old

by Birddog817 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I listened to many, many episodes. There was always an interesting approach or concept presented that kept me coming back. Thank you for that. However, I could never get past the irritation from the obvious left wing bias. The episode with Jennifer Palmierie finally pushed me away. I’m sorry your preferred candidate lost the election. I don’t think it was because she was a woman. I think it’s because she represented ideas and values that a large number of Americans, outside of the media, find offensive.

Yuk! Yuk!

by JTR ROUND ROCK on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Comedy, for me, just doesn’t mix with news, history, philosophy or advocacy. So in all fairness I just avoid those pods; but it appears there’s a good bit of programming here (which I will forego) that avoids the comedic bungle, the idiot sting of the nabob, and to me it’s wasted.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

by RMcGaha on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Excellent podcast

by CherriOnTop on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Kickass News is a really excellent podcast on every level. The host, the content, the guests are all A+. One of my favs. I highly recommend this one.

FINALLY A PODCAST THAT DIGS DEEPER

by AubDalt on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's about time there was a podcast that digs a little deeper than just shallow surface interviews. I get the sense that the interviewer actually thinks about questions and wants to a more nuanced sense of his guests and their experience. Doesn't seem like he's just working off some notes. He reallys seeks to understand. I find that rare and very special about Kickass News. Thank you.

One of the best podcasts around

by Vote5Pedro on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Kickass News really is one of the best podcasts around, and I think it has to be my favorite interview show of all. Great stuff. Keep doing what you do! Big fan!

Softball interviewer

by Glowt on Mar 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Host doesn't challenge guests with any question remotely uncomfortable. Simply reinforces each guest's ideas back to them.

Poor content spam

by SthCaro99 on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Low low aulity programming

Lame

by Vgyvygvyg on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Lame

One of my favorite podcasts

by Seramarche on
Rating: ★★★★★

I always enjoy hearing the diverse guests Ben has on this show.

How on earth is this podcast always in Apple's Top 10?

by MaineAle on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There are hundreds (if not thousands) of podcasts interviewing the same people featured here and doing a much better job of it than Kickass News. The idiotic name says it all.

Ben Mathis is the real National Treasure

by JenBoHo on
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never written a review for a podcast, but I need for Ben Mathis to be heard, and if rating and reviewing his show gets that accomplished, then let’s do this!I’ve listened to Kickass News for quite some time, and always have enjoyed Ben’s interview style, so why not review the podcast (you may be asking), and I just don’t do reviews despite the constant request by all podcasters, but today’s David Frum episode made me actually sit up straight, and then slide the bar back to listen again, and then tweet about the awesomeness that is Ben Mathis, so yeah, it was a great episode. And here is why: Ben doesn’t tiptoe, and I knew that, but today he didn’t tiptoe around the thing that ALL journos and reporters have been tiptoeing around since November 2016; this country’s ignorance. I remember the Sunday after the election watching Chuck Todd look uneasy after saying the percentage of “uneducated whites” that had voted for Trump, and he went into a dialogue of why he felt wrong saying that, and then (catastrophically, in my opinion) switched it to “non-college educated whites”, and I recall yelling into the abyss because this is not going to help us. As Ben says, dancing around this fact is incompetence. Critical thinking is necessary to a democracy—or an attempt at democracy—and it is not at all a kindness to just shake our heads at ignorance or label it as economic anxiety.Anyway...if you want to listen to a kingpin in the journalism world, subscribe to Kickass News, and if you’re so moved, please rate and review *wink wink*.

The smartest host in podcasting

by AlexanderPDowdIII on
Rating: ★★★★★

I am completely blown away with the guests you've gotten over the past year. Your the only show that bridges a lot of different areas from politics to film, science to business with top tier guests in all of their fields. I'm even more impressed by how well-versed the host Ben Mathis is on every conceivable topic. I highly recommend Kickass News to anyone.

Episode following the SOTU was abominable

by Festus.x96 on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Episode following the SOTU was abominable. More leftist drivel. Checked out other reviews - wondered if I’d entered the Twilight Zone because most were slamming the podcast for conservative reporting. The one I listened to was unabashed leftist chuckling and agreeing that President Trump is the most racist & corrupt swamp monster of all. I’ll listen to a couple more - this might be an outlier - but I won’t waste much time if it continues with leftist apologetics

Best all-around podcast by far

by truthmatters109 on
Rating: ★★★★★

I've loved this podcast for it's diversity of guests and viewpoints and the host's intelligence and fairness. I've seen a couple of strange one star reviews on here that accuse the host of being right-wing, but I don't think they've ever listened because I think he's the opposite. Ben seems very middle of the road a fair to guests on both sides. If anything I think he leans more independent or to the left. He's against Trump so that scores him points in my book. When he has political guests on, he seems to provide a safe place for guests to share a diverse range of opinions. Even when he doesn't agree with them, he is always respectful and thoughtful. That is something that is desperately lacking in our society right now, and so I think Ben Mathis and Kickass News are doing a great service with this show.

Smartest podcast there is

by Richthepodman on
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening for a year or so and I've yet to find a dud episode. It is so refreshing to listen to a podcast host who actually reads the guest's book and takes the time to do his homework and come up with thought-provoking questions that dig deeper than the usual chat shows. I especially enjoyed his recent podcasts with Judd Apatow, George Shultz, Ridley Scott, and Daniel Ellsberg. Those would be great ones to start with if you're new to this podcast. Great work.

Disappointing

by TheGregSC on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

If you’re trying to break out of the conservative echo chamber, this is not the podcast for you. I was hoping for a more nuanced take on conservative views. Disappointing given the positive reviews.

AM Talk Radio in Podcast Form

by C.R.Rockdale on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Is you like AM talk radio, you’ll like this podcast. If slow-paced, outdated media that almost exclusively panders to a target demographic does not excite you... you can skip this one.

Can’t get to Another

by Bea02142011 on
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this Podcast and I figured I need a few others to listen to when I run but I yet to NEED to find anotherI have yet to be disappointed with one episodeKeep it up

BEN IS FABULOUS

by POMATT8270 on
Rating: ★★★★★

BEN YOU'RE AMONG MY FAVORITE PODCAST HOSTS THESE DAYS. YOU ARE MY GO TO SHOW FOR MY MORNING COMMUTE. ENTERTAINING AND SMART. I FEEL BETTER FOR HAVING DISCOVERED KICKASS NEWS.

LoveThisPod928

by So many great episodes!!! on
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this Pod! Your recent episodes with Judd Apatow and Dan Rather were VERY GOOD. The host asks the smart insightful questions I would want to know myself. There's a reason this pod is always in the TOP 5 on here. Consistent excellence.

Made my holidays a little brighter

by Giocache04 on
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been spending the holidays with family and found Kickass News in the Top Ten on Apple Podcasts. I've been binging 10 episodes over the weekend, and I think Kickass News is my new favorite. I even played a few in the car for my uncles and aunts and they agreed that the host Ben is just wonderful. Congratulations on your success!

If you want non biased critical thinking interviews and news, don't subscribe.

by ttbebay on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Look I'm an independent, but this news is conservative pandering with no critical thinking. While there are some interesting view points and a couple good life advice ones, overall I've come to the conclusion that this news is totally biased and one sided and they don't even attempt to bridge mainstream media veracity with conflicting view points. Sorry but lack of asking the hard questions when clearly they are needed right now... it's pitiful. Do better. There's less biased news out there.

Biased

by pocket_ashes on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Biased and one sided. Just another conservative seeking to bash Democrats over and over again while leaving out key facts. Would love if this show looked at both sides of these issues as it does cover interesting topics of discussion and news.

Great

by HTS22 on
Rating: ★★★★★

I am impressed with the shows so far--just great!

Great content - Great voice

by grace4greta on
Rating: ★★★★★

The content is timely and diverse. The host’s voice is perfect for podcast interviews. Honestly one of the best

Wish I could like it, but sadly NO

by Qismet on
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not up to my standards

First time listening

by Gerrybds on
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoyed this podcast

Very enjoyable!

by LAJuice on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben gets the best guests to talk about the most interesting things!

Fabulous

by Christianity2324 on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Matthew explains the best way I have yet to come across about online business, particularly with Amazon, it's plain and simple so anyone can understand the concepts and get started straight away. I feel sorry for you if you are a Doubting Thomas because you don't realize the opportunity that you are missing. And you know the old saying, ""Oportunity doesn't Knock Twice.

Love the variety!

by right of center on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoy the variety of guests that you interview and they are always interesting topics.

Disappointed with interview technique

by Ffball guy on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was excited to find this new highly rated podcast, and chose the Anthony Bourdain episode for my first listen. Unfortunately, the interviewer did 70% of the talking, with lots of yes/no questions that didn't yield a very interesting piece. I'm not sure if that's indicative of his typical style, but it was disappointing - not even close to the quality of interviews in NPR or Freakonomics.

Wow

by kdarcey on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Unbelievable guests! How do they get these guests? Great interviews and great questions.

This is specific to the Leslie Stahl episode

by Kathy Z. on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have been listening to this podcast off and on for a while and have generally found it good. However, the latest episode, with the Leslie Stahl interview was a real disappointment. Mathis, of course, asked her about her post election interview with Trump, but completely ignored the criticism of her “softball“ questions in that interview. He accepted without comment or challenge her assertion that it was a good interview and was well-received. I would have appreciated hearing her respond to the criticism. I expected more b

Host loves to hear himself talk

by Nancify on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Stop talking about what the podcast is about and just play the podcast. Too much interviewer interruption.

Thoughtful

by TheLastModerate on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is excellent. So so so much better than the crap the infotainment industry is feeding us. The diversity of guests and topics is outstanding, ranging from politics, world events, entertainment, and popular science. Mr. Mathis describes himself as a republican. As far as I can tell he is rather centrist in his positions and disposition. Most importantly the podcast is civil and open to discussion from across the political spectrum and mostly minus the idiotic ideologues on both sides.

Mathis draws great interviews.

by Scotty in Cal on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has become a staple for me. I listen to every episode translating into hearing each advertisement. The ads aren't too often to be irritating and sometimes they're even helpful as to what's new to me out there. Mr. Mathis always has interesting guests and he has also become a really talented interviewer.

Are you kidding me with Dennis Prager

by CollyOllyBear on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This was the near equivalence of Alex Jones as far as view points. I typically enjoy this podcast, but that was absolutely painful to listen to. Find a legitimate guest to interview next time instead of that jack of a so called conservative.